PDA

View Full Version : Matte Vs Glossy

Blue Water Boy
20th February 2008, 02:32 AM
Im a recently graduated (high school) student soon to start UNI. Im putting off buying a MacBook Pro till the update but i need help deciding what screen to get, matte or glossy...im studying graphic design and i will be going into a job in the graphic design area....thanks!

Huy
20th February 2008, 03:06 AM
Matte for you then.

Gerbils
20th February 2008, 05:57 AM
Matte. I work in graphic design and have had to use an aluminium iMac at work... when you're trying to retouch dark/black areas in Photoshop, all you can really see is yourself staring back at you!

mwot
20th February 2008, 06:03 AM
for a fleeting second (ok, perhaps longer) i thought this was about photography prints ...

Brains
20th February 2008, 06:38 AM
... I'm studying graphic design and i will be going into a job in the graphic design area ...

Three bits of advice for you, then.

1) Go for the matte screen.
2) Don't throw out your old CRT monitor
3) Add $200 to your computer budget for a Colorvision Spyder2 Express screen calibration system.

The LCD display in all Apple laptops is an 18-bit panel, meaning that whilst the actual graphics chip & video circuitry can generate the 16.2 million colours you need for accurate design & image work, the internal display can only display 262,000 colours. The Spyder2 will help re-equalise the internal display so that you can get better (but still not perfect) colour accuracy on-screen. When you're at home, use your CRT monitor as an external display, and hang your work in that -- CRTs, even old ones, are far more colour-accurate than all but the most hideously expensive LCD screens.

krafty
20th February 2008, 06:43 AM
Matte. I work in graphic design and have had to use an aluminium iMac at work... when you're trying to retouch dark/black areas in Photoshop, all you can really see is yourself staring back at you!