PDA

View Full Version : Request for help from the iSlayer team: power, current and voltage sensors



marc
19th February 2008, 09:10 AM
We're adding support for power, current and voltage sensors on Intel Macs for some of our products and we need a little help getting some system info as we don't have every Mac model in the office here... in fact, we don't even have an office.

Instructions

Step 1.
Make sure you have an Intel Mac.

Step 2.
Download the smc command line tool from http://islayer.com/software/intel/SMCCLI.zip and unzip it.

Step 3.
Double click the SMCCLI file in finder to open and run it.
Copy the results into a new textedit document and save.

Step 4.
Email the textedit document containing the results from the smc command in terminal to supportteam at islayer dot com.

Thanks in advance to anyone who helps. We'll give you a free copy when it's released ;)
(All our stuff is free, so that's not really a good thank you)

Galumay
19th February 2008, 11:30 AM
done.

bennyling
19th February 2008, 11:33 AM
Well, I would be doing it right now, but the Macs at school don't allow the application Terminal!

Will endeavor to do it on my MacBook when I get home.

marc
19th February 2008, 11:36 AM
Thanks everyone! It's a big help.

We now have quite a few models covered. We're still missing these though:

MacBook1,1
MacBook3,1
MacBookPro1,2
MacBookPro3,1
iMac4,1
iMac5,1
MacBookAir1,1
MacPro3,1
MacPro2,1

You can see the Mac model number if you go to Apple Menu>About This Mac, then click "More Info...".

iSlayer
19th February 2008, 11:41 AM
MacBook1,1
MacBook3,1
MacBookPro1,2
MacBookPro3,1
iMac4,1
iMac5,1
MacBookAir1,1
MacPro3,1
MacPro2,1


MacBook1,1 - Original MacBook
MacBook3,1 - Current Generation MacBook
MacBookPro1,2 - First generation 17"
MacBookPro3,1 - Current Generation (LED Screen model)
iMac4,1 - Original Core Duo
iMac5,1 - Core2Duo
iMac6,1 - 24" core2duo (white model)
MacBookAir1,1 - Current model
MacPro3,1 - Current Model (2008)
MacPro2,1 - Original 8 Core model (2007?)

Even if you have something not in that list its still useful to us so you can still send us the data :)

mctext
19th February 2008, 11:41 AM
Also done.


mct

leon
19th February 2008, 11:41 AM
Macbook 1,1 sent

applecollector
19th February 2008, 11:45 AM
I have a macbook pro core duo and intel mini still want me to send that data across this afternoon?

GraphicDZNR
19th February 2008, 12:04 PM
Doooone

tcn33
19th February 2008, 12:07 PM
If you don't have iMac 4,1 by tonight I'll hook you up.

iSlayer
19th February 2008, 12:08 PM
I have a macbook pro core duo and intel mini still want me to send that data across this afternoon?

Yep. More data we can get the better

MrJesseRoss
19th February 2008, 12:19 PM
i have no idea what i just did, but i did it.

edit: mine was a macbook 3,1.

Optogamut
19th February 2008, 12:23 PM
Done > iMac6,1 - 24" core2duo (white model)

decryption
19th February 2008, 12:50 PM
I've got a MacBook Air (everyone knows), so I can test that for ya.

[MREVO8]
19th February 2008, 01:12 PM
I'll send in the results of my Air tonight.

EDIT: Gee, that sounds like some kind of embarrassing medical condition :)

marc
19th February 2008, 05:55 PM
Thanks again everyone. We're really close to having a complete set of sensor information for all models now.

Next step: We now have most of the sensors being recognised in an application. If possible, could everyone download and run this application:
http://islayer.com/software/intel/IntelSensorsTest6.zip

It will show your sensors on screen and will also create a file in your home folder called "iStatIntelSMCTest.plist". Please either email a screen shot or the plist to supportteam at islayer dot com.

zbaron
19th February 2008, 06:17 PM
IntelSensorsTest crashes on an iMac4,1 ... crash output emailed.

bassmanbliss
19th February 2008, 06:21 PM
Just sent mine through guys

iSlayer
19th February 2008, 06:23 PM
IntelSensorsTest crashes on an iMac4,1 ... crash output emailed.

try this version
http://islayer.com/software/intel/IntelSensorsTest6.zip

Galumay
19th February 2008, 06:32 PM
http://img.skitch.com/20080219-8usqd1jf1tg7a1e1ta3j8q5r3.jpg

cornks
19th February 2008, 07:25 PM
For my Mac, it appears to open and then close with out doing anything. Certainly nothing like what Galumay is seeing.

My computer is 2 GHz Intel Core Duo, 1.5 GB Ram, running 10.4.11.

iSlayer
19th February 2008, 07:26 PM
For my Mac, it appears to open and then close with out doing anything. Certainly nothing like what Galumay is seeing.

My computer is 2 GHz Intel Core Duo, 1.5 GB Ram, running 10.4.11.

try this - http://islayer.com/software/intel/IntelSensorsTest6.zip

cornks
19th February 2008, 08:09 PM
Still no good. This time it opened, but then crashed. I got:

The application IntelSensorsTest quit unexpectedly.

Mac OS X and other applications are not affected.

Click Reopen to open the application again. Click Report to see more details or send a report to Apple.

I will send the full crash report to your email address. It's to long to paste here.

Keving
19th February 2008, 08:27 PM
Sent mine!

zbaron
19th February 2008, 08:27 PM
Test4 did the trick. Emailed.

tcn33
19th February 2008, 08:48 PM
All done!

grfxninja
19th February 2008, 09:07 PM
Both done :thumbup:

iSlayer
19th February 2008, 09:08 PM
Version 6 - http://islayer.com/software/intel/IntelSensorsTest6.zip
Should fix the bad values on iMac4,1 (core duo) and imac5,1 (core2duo)

Optogamut
19th February 2008, 10:38 PM
Done here too.

Apart from being cool, umm, what can we do with this info? There's some practical reason right? I just can't think of it...

iSlayer
20th February 2008, 06:39 PM
Bumpity bump

We are still looking for more info. Especially from white iMacs, MacBook air's and 2008 mac pro's.
We need both lots of info(info from the first post in this thread plus the info from this post - http://forums.mactalk.com.au/showpost.php?p=449703&postcount=16)

swoffa
20th February 2008, 07:01 PM
Here's mine. 24" core2duo white

http://img.skitch.com/20080220-p6yug8ag66utfratfqku543jbs.jpg

Cheers

MrJesseRoss
20th February 2008, 07:27 PM
sent my macbook 3,1 sensor test info through. :)

iSlayer
20th February 2008, 07:45 PM
Thanks guys
Still looking for more from iMac5,1 (First Core2Duo model). We have what we need for other white iMacs now(you can still send us more if you want though. Cant hurt :) )

leon
20th February 2008, 09:38 PM
Sent info for C2E 2.8GHz.