PDA

View Full Version : Learning Java

iSlayer
17th March 2005, 07:53 AM
Hi,
Im in the middle of developing a php based image gallery that my company will sell to clients.
i need a frontend uploader for it and i have more or less decided to use java for cross platform compatibility.

i have no java experience.my experience is with web based coding.
im going to be jumping straight into complex things.
the basic idea for the app is that it will let users select multiple images,perform validation on each one,create thumbnails,enter details into mysql database and then copy the original to the server via ftp.

im basically looking for good books or web tutorials on any of the above functions.

if you have any tips or comments let me know

Thanks

hawker
17th March 2005, 08:08 AM
Originally posted by islayer@Mar 17 2005, 07:53 AM
Im in the middle of developing a php based image gallery that my company will sell to clients.
i need a frontend uploader for it and i have more or less decided to use java for cross platform compatibility.
Hmm I know a couple iSlayer, but for the moment the names escape me. I will dig around and see what I can find, hopefully post later.

How come you're using Java? Why not a modded PHP gallery? Be much easier would it not?

I'd say you have your reasons though ;)

iSlayer
17th March 2005, 08:13 AM
there is no way to upload multiple images without using java or a stand alone app.
javascript and php dont have access to the local users filesystem so they cant do batch uploads.
my current php solution is to have mutple file unputs on the upload form which works fine for now but it means if you want to upload say 100 pics it will take along time to select them one by one

i know im diving right into it trying to create something this complex with no java experience but its the only way to do it and im trying to get this product released as soon as i can.