PDA

View Full Version : A network related question - & one on folders...

radiocam
6th February 2008, 11:38 PM
Hello,
(It's M-day+1 month in our household and it's going great.)

Equipment= Macbook running leopard. Daughter uses this for school, who set up a user profile for her that uses Open Directory to sync on their network when she logs in there via wireless.
For ref below I'll call her home profile H and school profile S.

1. My (maybe) networking question :
She logged on as S this evening at home (so no school network connection of course) and showed me a few icons on the dock that show as question marks. And also that the dock was in Hide mode.
When she is at school, and goes System Prefs -> Dock to try and unhide it, she said the Dock dialog is all greyed out and cannot be modified. Any idea why this would happen?

2. My folder question:
This is a real noob question I know, but while I understand a bit about Leopard's folder structure, I'm still learning how it's used and displayed.

Can someone walk me through this simple task please:
Create a folder (eg. for her to save documents she creates at home under profile H) that will be accessible by all users on the computer (eg profile S when she is at school) . In other words, a publicly shared folder - and how does one set up links to it on the desktop?

Thanks in adv

PS: Does anyone know of any really good tutorial pages on Mac folder structure? - probably should be for Leopard as I gather some things have changed even since the prev version of the OS(?)

AusMac
7th February 2008, 12:29 AM
She can create folders that are both private and part shared by simply moving selected files to the "shared" folder in MacintoshHD/Users/shared
Anything created in H .. can only be read by H unless you are admin of the same computer and know her password.

Command(Apple)/Shift/N creates a new folder in any directory you have permissions to do so in.