PDA

View Full Version : Front Row not playing Theatrical Trailers or iTunes Top 10 Movies previews.



MichaelQ
22nd January 2008, 12:42 PM
Hoping someone might be able to help me out with this weird problem I have had for a few months (since before Leopard, but it persists since updating to 10.5.1.)

My Front Row wont play the Theatrical Trailers or iTunes Top 10 movies previews.

It happily updates the list. But whenever I click on one I get:

"The Selected Video Could Not Be Played, The Format Was Not Recognised".

I have no problems playing TV Show previews, Music Videos and my own ripped movies.

I get the same results on my Apple TV and my 18 month old intel iMac.

Any ideas ? Much appreciated.

MichaelQ
27th January 2008, 10:53 PM
Still having this problem - anyone got any ideas?

astr0b0y
27th January 2008, 11:14 PM
What Quicktime plug-ins do you have installed?

timothy
27th January 2008, 11:18 PM
have you tried deleting p.list...

http://img.skitch.com/20080127-d53dnakdd4493xbkg87dxsfyme.jpg

this should work
edit: always a first choice for apps playing up.

MichaelQ
28th January 2008, 10:29 AM
What Quicktime plug-ins do you have installed?

According to /library/quicktime/ I have :

AC3MovieImport
AppleIntermediateCodec
DivX Decoder
DivX Encoder
EyeTV MPEG Support
Flip4Mac WMV Advanced
Flip4Mac WMV Export
Flip4Mac WMV Import
Perian

astr0b0y
28th January 2008, 11:19 AM
Just for shits and giggles, can you move all the codecs out (to the desktop) and restart?
Also, did you try what Timothy suggested?

MichaelQ
28th January 2008, 05:22 PM
Just for shits and giggles, can you move all the codecs out (to the desktop) and restart?
Also, did you try what Timothy suggested?

Did both things (deleted plist, moved codecs) - still no Trailer Lovin ;(

Only thing thats changed is now I no longer see the Top 10 iTunes Movies listed in my Movie menu.

Maybe it takes a bit of time to resync with the Trailer "web server" or whatever it is where we get the listings for the Trailers and Top 10?

astr0b0y
28th January 2008, 05:47 PM
Can you try creating a new user and see if the problems persist there?

MichaelQ
28th January 2008, 07:52 PM
Can you try creating a new user and see if the problems persist there?

No luck there either ;(

Was looking at the other plist entries in preferences. What about things like Quicktime.plugin.preferences or even quucktime.player? Would these effect Front Row?

astr0b0y
28th January 2008, 07:53 PM
Frontrow is a front end to QuickTime, so it certainly is possible. You could try removing QuickTime's preference files and even re-install QuickTime.