PDA

View Full Version : safe mode?



krafty
20th January 2008, 04:49 PM
Hi there, new to all this. That is asking strangers for help.
Ok my macbook black has had a few funny happenings, when using the XP / bootcamp the screen comes up as a "safemode" kind of display every now and again. Am I alone or is this an known issue. Is it a video card or on board issue.

Thanks in Anticipation.

Linux_insidev2
20th January 2008, 04:51 PM
You shouldn't talk to strangers....

Lol in all seriousness, this usually happens when the machine wasn't properly shut down.

Wally
20th January 2008, 04:51 PM
Have you installed the Bootcamp drivers with the Leopard install disk?

cosmichobo
20th January 2008, 04:51 PM
"Safe Mode" is triggered when you start your computer whilst holding down the SHIFT key.

It will advise you you are booting in Safe Mode - which basically cuts off all 3rd party and non essential system features... to help diagnose problems...

Linux_insidev2
20th January 2008, 04:55 PM
"Safe Mode" is triggered when you start your computer whilst holding down the SHIFT key.

It will advise you you are booting in Safe Mode - which basically cuts off all 3rd party and non essential system features... to help diagnose problems...

He's talking about winblowz here not MacOSX

krafty
20th January 2008, 05:07 PM
Have you installed the Bootcamp drivers with the Leopard install disk?

yes it is set up from the Leopard install disc.

Wally
20th January 2008, 05:26 PM
Hmm

Go to Start > Control Panel > Hardware > Device Manager click view.

Does anyone have an exclaimation mark?

Wally