PDA

View Full Version : I'm New To Mac - Help Me Out

themessup
20th January 2008, 08:48 AM
Hello fellow Aussie Mac users/owners,

I am Thomas and I'm 13. I just joined the site today and I love it:D. I'm in year 8 now and I have been thinking. By the time I'm in year 10 I'm going to need my own omputer for study and school work. I also want one for fun! I am very creative on computers like making pictures in Photoshop and making websites aswell as videos.I know Macs can provide there! I have been a PC user all my life and I am now deciding to save up for a Mac. I hope to get one from now to the end of 2009. I just have some questions::confused:

What's DMG? Is is like an installer file format? Example: .exe on Windows
Also What is: PDA, MBP

I love Macs now and can't wait to get one. But can anyone tell me that advantages they have over Microsoft Windows, just so I know i'm making the right decision:confused:. Thanks,

Thomas

mvjs
20th January 2008, 08:53 AM
DMG: DMG is a disk image format which can contain an installer or application.
PDA: Personal Digital Assistant, a la Palm, PocketPC, etc.
MBP: MacBook Pro, Apple's pro-notebook.

themessup
20th January 2008, 08:54 AM
Oh thanks mate. I know about MacBooks but just not the abreviations. Thanks

belmere
30th January 2008, 06:48 PM
Tommy - get the Mac. You'll never look back and you can always get Windows programs like Word etc at student rate if you need to for school/uni (given that most use thee programs as standard on either Mac or PC).

I've just made the switch and I loooooove it.

ClockWork
30th January 2008, 07:03 PM
Plus, if you purchase something with a little more grunt, like the MacBook Pro: MBP - with 4GB RAM, using an application called: Parallels (http://www.parallels.com/landingpage/dskd10/?gclid=CM3ZrOzMnZECFSosagodA29mPg), you can run both Windows XP (the upgrade to Vista :P) and Mac OS X @ the same time.

Have both Operating Systems in one without rebooting.

themessup