PDA

View Full Version : First MB Pro - why only 2 gB RAM?



ruunis
18th January 2008, 12:59 AM
I have the first generation MacBook Pro - 2.0 gHz.

I've seen the "adress RAM issue" topic here.
Is that the answer to this question as well:

Why is 2 gB RAM the limit on my MBPro?
- The Intel Chipset inside supports 4gB

What will happen if I upgrade to 3 gB RAM?

Hope you know the answer to this :)

Martin, Oslo, Norway

Huy
18th January 2008, 01:17 AM
4GB is for Santa Rosa chipsets.

If you upgrade your Core Duo to 3GB, or 4GB, you address 2GB only.

Squozen
18th January 2008, 05:57 AM
I'm almost certain the first generation MBP will unofficially address 3Gb, they said 2Gb at the time because 2Gb DIMMs didn't exist when it was launched.

Am I wrong?

Galumay
18th January 2008, 06:35 AM
thats my belief as well squozen, cant quickly find anything to confirm it tho'.

mmm....maybe not, http://apcmag.com/3814/4gb_notebook_ram_but_not_for_macbooks

thorevenge
18th January 2008, 06:44 AM
Its like the Rev B Macbooks support only 2Gb, but apparently can use 4Gb, or so one of the guys at work who has tried it tells me.