PDA

View Full Version : PowerBook G4 freezing

kadams
14th January 2008, 02:45 PM
Sorry if this issue has come up before but I have a 2001 G4 PowerBook (667MHz) which started freezing infrequently a while ago and is now doing it every few minutes I use it. It seems to happen whatever I'm doing whether on the internet, in an office program or just checking out the profile. The only way out is to restart and then it freezes again.

I know its an old computer but my needs are pretty simple and I want to keep it going as long as possible. I also want to avoid using an apple service as they are costly. I'm a newbie at fixing computers but am willing to give it a try but I don't know where to start.

So far from general reading in the past hour I should check the battery, hard drive, motherboard/logicboard, wires, memory, conflicting extensions amd probably check logs and comments.

Where do I start? What is the likely culprit?

My hunch would be to get more memory first. However I have lots of available hard drive (27 of the 29 original GB is available). My ram is only 256M but I'm not sure how much of that I've used. I'm not even sure my hunch about the memory is right and would hate to buy stuff that won't fix the freezing problem as I have a limited budget.

Any advice would be very gratefully accepted.

Nevets_Anderson
14th January 2008, 03:06 PM
Sounds like the HD is on the way out - You might want to try starting the machine up from a system cd / DVD or an external drive if you have one - does The mac still freeze? (if not then it's almost certainly the HD thats on the way out)

If your running os X look at the console application (in the utilities folder) look for the crash log that may give you some clues... Other things to think about are have you installed any new software of late? Did this freezing start after the install?

Byrd
14th January 2008, 03:13 PM
(27 of the 29 original GB is available). My ram is only 256M

Welcome kadams :)