PDA

View Full Version : iMac G3 Wont Turn On!

Aussie
8th March 2005, 05:25 PM
hey guys,
im new to the apple world
i have recently come into possesion of a few G3 imacs
(400MHz, 256Mb RAM)
i plugged them in and found that 2 sound like they start up but the monitor doesnt turn on, and the other 1 doesnt turn on at all! :huh:
i opened them up and found that the HDD's were missing, so i connected a working apple HDD from another functional imac (same specs)
but the same thing happened again! :angry:

so if anyone has any ideas or can give me some insight please reply

kind regards
Aussie

paulharrop
8th March 2005, 05:33 PM
The iMac G3's are subject to analogue board failure. I have had quite a few Bondi blue iMacs fail this way. It could be why the HD's had been removed - spare part scavenging. The computer starts but then detects that the analogue board has failed - no screen will come on and the computer may shutdown.

regards

Paul

Aussie
8th March 2005, 05:44 PM
Thanks for the info Paul
is there anyway to fix this board, or maybe even buy a new/second hand 1

and if so is it worth it?

Kind regards
Aussie

paulharrop
8th March 2005, 05:55 PM
The QLD police moved over from Macs to PC's a few years ago and flooded the market with G3 iMacs (among other models) and this made them not worth repairing as replacement cost was only a few hundred dollars. I don't repair mine at my school, as I was given 31 of them a while back, I just strip them for parts but you could try getting spare parts from some place like Powertech in Brisbane.

http://www.powertech.net.au/

Aussie
8th March 2005, 05:59 PM
thanks yet again paul

i think ill do what u did and strip them, at least i get a gig of new RAM :D

thanks for the help

regards
Aussie

Paxton
8th March 2005, 06:00 PM