PDA

View Full Version : G5 powermac freezing problems

grorr76
6th March 2005, 01:25 PM
Hi I have a g5 1.8ghz power mac with 1.25gb of ram and am experiancing a fair amount of freezing when exiting programs or shutting down. Im wandering if theres a setting or something I need to change, as when I just put in the gig of ram it didnt make the machine as zippy as id hoped.

any ideas any help would be greatly apreciated.

Also any tips on defragging your main hd with the operating system installed.
Btw im new to osx so please forgive my lack of knowledge in these areas.
cheers

the_OM
6th March 2005, 01:31 PM
I'd think its bad ram. Take out the new ram, see if things still freeze, if not, then the new ram is your culprit

grorr76
6th March 2005, 01:34 PM
hey thanks for the quick reply.. the rams apple ram so its kinda weird. the programs run far better than they did on 256 but its just the slow shutdown, thats all. is there a way of modifying how the ram is used by the system ??? so with program,s working fine would it still be the ram

hawker
6th March 2005, 01:40 PM
Originally posted by grorr76@Mar 6 2005, 01:34 PM
hey thanks for the quick reply.. the rams apple ram so its kinda weird. the programs run far better than they did on 256 but its just the slow shutdown, thats all. is there a way of modifying how the ram is used by the system ??? so with program,s working fine would it still be the ram
Hmmm if its under warranty get it checked out... sounds like RAM but could be a motherboard or other issue!

grorr76
6th March 2005, 01:44 PM
OHHHHH BOY I Hope its not the motherboard... its like everythings works pretty much ok but its just not at optimal perfpormance. is there any checks I can do software wise utility wise that might discover something, could you recomend something..

iSlayer
6th March 2005, 02:13 PM
whats version of panther.
there was a huge bug is pre 10.3.7 releases that caused freezes especially on g5's

grorr76
6th March 2005, 02:24 PM