PDA

View Full Version : DVD from .mov = jaggies

Aa
21st December 2007, 03:25 PM
Any videots here know how to get a DVD burned from a movie file(.mov) without a resulting loss of quality?

I can't seem to get one happening without major jaggies in either toast8 or iDVD - i am a novice in iDVD though and only recently upgraded to a DVD burning imac so i might be missing something...

I've created a slideshow for presentation with an audiotrack thats timed to coincide with the transitions - daft, i know, but i couldn't work out how to work with audio and stills in iMovie6 quick enough so i jumped over to iPhoto. I exported this to a .mov file just fine, but now they tell me it has to be a DVD and i just can't seem to create one without major jaggies.

frustrating!

purana
21st December 2007, 04:18 PM
You could use ffmpegx on Tiger to conver the .mov file into a DVD compatible mpeg stream.. worth a go.

Aa
21st December 2007, 04:25 PM
Oh cmon purana, don't ffmpegx me!

I've never been able to get that thing working with all of the extra downloads and configuring it needs...

any other ideas? (while i try and get imovie to stop ken burnsing the photos i @#%!!ing imported...)

g5agogo
21st December 2007, 04:49 PM
1. How long is the movie?

2. Visualhub 2 pass should do it (deinterlace if you must)

grorr76
21st December 2007, 05:20 PM
ill go furthur here.
there 2 issues
1 de-interlacing is imperative when playing any video on a lcd
2 if you are playing compressed video and upscaling either on a monitor or a lcd tv, very rarely will you not get artifacting.

Lilith
21st December 2007, 09:57 PM
The problem here is the .mov format. It is not the original "uncompressed" raw digital format straight from the movie camera / still camera.