PDA

View Full Version : Intel GMA 950 locked to 64mb in Boot Camp 2.0?



DavyG
19th December 2007, 08:36 PM
Has anyone else have noticed that in Boot Camp 2.0 that the VRAM allocation is locked to 64mb? The Boot Camp beta allowed you to install the official Intel driver and get it to max allocation (224mb). Now, it's only 64mb, despite installing an Intel driver over the Apple one. Is anyone in the same spot as me? How do you bypass that?

I installed Widows XP full with the 1.4 beta drivers on my Boot Camp 2.0 partition. Still locked to 64mb. Did Apple do a silent GMA 950 BIOS update limiting it to 64mb? I also got 1gb RAM installed. I was able to get it on the beta after I had a memory upgrade.

something2sea
30th December 2007, 06:13 PM
Would it be possible for apple to release a silent bios upgrade? wouldn't it require the user to restart from the utility thing & hold down the power button until the sleep light flashes "rapidly"?

bennyling
30th December 2007, 06:16 PM
No idea about the idea of a silent BIOS; don't Apple use EFI anyway? What the heck is a BIOS doing?

I've got 2Gb ram (2x 1Gb) in my MacBook, and I've got 224Mb of RAM allocated to the GMA950 Graphics Card under bootcamp...

Still can't play CS:Source, though.

Eurosnob
30th December 2007, 09:33 PM
Which driver version gives the extra allocation & how do you set it?

Byrd
30th December 2007, 10:26 PM
Which driver version gives the extra allocation & how do you set it?

The latest drivers from Intel; not the ones that Apple supply.

The latest XP and Vista drivers from Intel can be found here:

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Filter_Results.aspx?strOSs=All&strTypes=All&ProductID=2876&OSFullName=All%20Operating%20Systems&lang=eng

JB

DavyG
30th December 2007, 10:52 PM
It seems that Windows Vista doesn't have this problem. Looks Vista is not an expensive and crappy paperweight, for me at least. BTW, l was refering to the GMA's inbuilt BIOS.

Eurosnob
30th December 2007, 11:06 PM
Thanks. Trying now.

Still hates me. How do you actually tell it to use more?

Eurosnob
30th December 2007, 11:58 PM
:) He he, walked into that one.

Seriously though, how do you manually set the memory amount?

DavyG
1st January 2008, 02:39 PM
You can't. You need to hope and pray on drivers. :)
Only on a PC and with a accessible BIOS you can.

bennyling
1st January 2008, 02:56 PM
More RAM helps, I think.

And remember: mirrored ram gives a 15% speed boost in graphics performance!

DavyG
1st January 2008, 03:00 PM
Oh yeah: You need at least 1GB of RAM for this to work. Matched RAM doesn't really matter- 1.5GB RAM is still better then 1GB in gaming. The difference is too small to be noticeable.

Eurosnob
2nd January 2008, 01:41 PM
I have 2 GB (2x1GB) but it's in a mini. I tried the F2 thing on startup but it didn't boot into BIOS. I am using an extended II keyboard through an imate though. I'll try it with a PC keyboard & see how that goes.

Eurosnob
3rd January 2008, 01:20 PM
Nah, doesn't work. Can't boot into BIOS. Bugger, it looks like I'm stuck with 64Mb of VRAM. :(

bennyling
3rd January 2008, 08:54 PM
And yet, here I am, running a 2.16 MacBook, with 2Gb RAM (2x1Gb)... 224Mb VRAM under bootcamped Windows XP.

Try installing this driver under XP:

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=N&ProductID=2301&DwnldID=14387&strOSs=44&OSFullName=Windows*%20XP%20Professional&lang=eng

...Screenshots to come! (Next time I'm in XP, that is...)


EDIT: Yep, looks like you'll need to install that driver mentioned above, according to

http://forums.mactalk.com.au/showpost.php?p=417246&postcount=2

Apple's GMA 950 drivers limit the GMA 950 to 64Mb VRAM.

I do apologise about the pic's size, i really must get a decent imaging program on my Windows side! Man, it was hard enough getting a screenshot! Where's the Print-screen button!! AHH! :p

http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/3228/80315461yb6aj1.th.jpg (http://img220.imageshack.us/my.php?image=80315461yb6aj1.jpg)

Eurosnob
4th January 2008, 05:22 PM
Damn thing just hates me :(

Name Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A2&SUBSYS_72708086&REV_03\3&B1BFB68&0&10
Adapter Type Intel(R) GMA 950, Intel Corporation compatible
Adapter Description Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
Adapter RAM 64.00 MB (67,108,864 bytes)
Installed Drivers igxprd32.dll
Driver Version 6.14.10.4864
INF File oem25.inf (i945GM0 section)
Color Planes 1
Color Table Entries 4294967296
Resolution 1400 x 1050 x 60 hertz
Bits/Pixel 32
Memory Address 0x90380000-0x903FFFFF
I/O Port 0x000020F0-0x000020F7
Memory Address 0x80000000-0xFEBFFFFF
Memory Address 0x90400000-0x9043FFFF
IRQ Channel IRQ 16
I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003BB
I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF
Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\igxpmp32.sys (6.14.10.4864, 5.51 MB (5,776,928 bytes), 24/11/2006 7:30 AM)


[quote=bennyling;420056]And yet, here I am, running a 2.16 MacBook, with 2Gb RAM (2x1Gb)... 224Mb VRAM under bootcamped Windows XP.

Try installing this driver under XP:

DavyG
4th January 2008, 06:14 PM
That's what happened to me. I don't know of a fix, all I did was a workaround.

bennyling
4th January 2008, 07:33 PM
...What? That's not possible!


Resolution 1400 x 1050 x 60 hertz

That's a little strange; MacBooks are supposed to run at 1440x800.

...You only have 1Gb RAM, don't you? Maybe that's what's making all the difference.

Eurosnob
5th January 2008, 12:57 AM
Not a laptop. It's a Mini. 2GB.



...What? That's not possible!



That's a little strange; MacBooks are supposed to run at 1440x800.

...You only have 1Gb RAM, don't you? Maybe that's what's making all the difference.

Huy
5th January 2008, 02:29 AM
Mini has laptop components, same with iMac.

MacBooks have 1280x800 res.
MacBook Pros have 1440x900.

Byrd
5th January 2008, 08:18 AM
What's with the obsession to get more than 64MB allocated on the GMA 950? Based on it's architecture the chipset will grab whatever RAM it likes for video purposes, over and above 64MB. Installing a driver/work around to make it state more RAM is allocated sounds good, but does it actually make any difference?

JB

DavyG
5th January 2008, 08:31 AM
What's with the obsession to get more than 64MB allocated on the GMA 950? Based on it's architecture the chipset will grab whatever RAM it likes for video purposes, over and above 64MB. Installing a driver/work around to make it state more RAM is allocated sounds good, but does it actually make any difference?

JB

So maybe we can convince our geek wannabe 'friends' into thinking that a GMA 950 is good? You don't know how many people judge a video card over VRAM, rather then power. They actually want an ATi 9800 256mb Pro over a 7600GS 128mb because it sounds faster and the 'Pro' makes it sound high end when it's not.

bennyling
5th January 2008, 09:03 AM
Hey, the more RAM I can have allocated to my crappy inbuilt graphics, the better.

It probably won't make that much of a difference in the grand scheme of things - ie. real world preformance - but hey, at least it sounds cool!

Eurosnob
5th January 2008, 11:47 AM
I'm playing EVE Online. I need all the help I can get :)


What's with the obsession to get more than 64MB allocated on the GMA 950?

JB

landog
19th March 2008, 01:10 PM
so did anyone solve this issue.

I have a mini running vista media centre. Apparently if you dont isntall the bootcamp drivers for the display and rather install the windows divers you release the cap @ 64 MB

Anyone confirm or deny?

MightyAtom
19th March 2008, 02:06 PM
Anyone confirm or deny?
Yes, the Intel version gives you the full 224MB. I'm not sure what the Apple driver does to limit the RAM allocation though. I'd recommend uninstalling the driver from device manager and selecting the delete driver option so it won't be automatically reinstalled then use the Intel installer.

If that dosen't work cloning your partitions and formatting the drive to wipe the EFI partition might save you a full reinstall.