PDA

View Full Version : Imovie HD importing



shuey
1st March 2005, 01:18 PM
Has anyone tried to have a video camera recognised in imovie hd?
I've tried 3 different cameras (Sony and Canon) and have had no luck. Imovie seems to be stuck in NTSC and won't see the PAL cameras.

Pej
1st March 2005, 01:35 PM
have you changed imovie to pal in the prefrences? it defaults to ntsc when first used (output anyway - dont know if it would effect input?).

shuey
1st March 2005, 01:40 PM
A "repair permissions" solved the problem.
Why doesn't OSX do an automatic repair permissions daily?

iSlayer
1st March 2005, 01:48 PM
it does some maintenence tasks but i dont think they involve permissions.
you could set it up as a cron task if you want to run it every day

Botox
1st March 2005, 04:02 PM
Try this:
Open a new file. Select DV in dialog box

When the new project is open, from Preferences, select New Project Frame Rate: 25 fps

25 fps translates to PAL.

Quit.
Open a new project.
Your camera should work fine.

Hope this helps.

shuey
2nd March 2005, 06:40 AM
Thanks for the suggestion.
A repair permissions and a restart seem to have fixed the problem.

hawker
2nd March 2005, 08:30 AM
Originally posted by shuey@Mar 2 2005, 06:40 AM
Thanks for the suggestion.
A repair permissions and a restart seem to have fixed the problem.
The other way would have fixed it too ;)