PDA

View Full Version : Start at the beginning

PeterS
1st November 2007, 03:32 PM
I thought I would dip my toe in the Linux water, just out of interest sake. I have no previous experience in Unix, Linux or coding and my only Terminal experience is in using Mac OS X, altho I do not shy away from CLI.

First question. I thought the best beginner task would be to download Kubuntu. Is this OK? Or should it be plain Ubuntu?

When I go to the Internode Mirror Server page to get Kubuntu I see a number of variants [alternate, amd, etc]. What is the one I need? Is it "desktop i386 iso"? If not, which one?
<http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/ubuntu/releases/kubuntu/gutsy/>

Where would I find a "Kubuntu starter for Dummies" web site?

Thank

purana
1st November 2007, 03:35 PM
I thought I would dip my toe in the Linux water, just out of interest sake. I have no previous experience in Unix, Linux or coding and my only Terminal experience is in using Mac OS X, altho I do not shy away from CLI.

First question. I thought the best beginner task would be to download Kubuntu. Is this OK? Or should it be plain Ubuntu?

When I go to the Internode Mirror Server page to get Kubuntu I see a number of variants [alternate, amd, etc]. What is the one I need? Is it "desktop i386 iso"? If not, which one?
<http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/ubuntu/releases/kubuntu/gutsy/>

Where would I find a "Kubuntu starter for Dummies" web site?

Thank

I'd suggest getting on the forums over at ubuntu, so much information available on it (and the wiki pages) that those resources will cover your questions.

The difference in ISO media can also been see over at the ubuntu website.

Huy
1st November 2007, 03:40 PM
Kubuntu and Ubuntu are basically the same (from what I know) besides having KDE as the shell rather than Gnome. I prefer Gnome personally.

What kind of computer do you have?
Basically you will want the desktop version, not the server version.