PDA

View Full Version : input/output error disk utility



The Fluffy Duck
27th October 2007, 10:33 AM
I have an external disk I wish to format (for TM) but I keep getting an input/output error. Any ideas? I'm also using leopard

ClockWork
27th October 2007, 10:44 AM
The Good Ship Fluffy Duck,

An I/O error like this on an External Drive, usually mean that the external HD itself it faulty.

Try erasing with Disk Utility and then try initializing again. If it comes back with that I/O error, suspiscions fall to the the external HD being "physically" faulty.

cw

The Fluffy Duck
27th October 2007, 11:55 AM
oh joy.

The Fluffy Duck
27th October 2007, 03:42 PM
Its ot the hard disk. becasue I just went and brought a new one :( same problem

icant
27th October 2007, 04:22 PM
I had the same problem. But then I could format on a different computer (MacBook) running Tiger. Drive now works on the Leopard machine.

I think it's a Leopard bug.

The Fluffy Duck
27th October 2007, 04:45 PM
it wasnt it was the case. So today I broght a new HD and a case when only the ase was faulty. grrr

AusMac
27th October 2007, 07:28 PM
Case is often the problem.
You can always test the case before buying a complete unit but the shops generally only sell units in cases(in the country). of course in the city if you have tested the case.. and found it wanting, then buying a case isn't so hard.

Look on the bright side .. box it back up and keep it for when it is the HD .. and not the case. ;)