PDA

View Full Version : Connecting computers

susieW
11th October 2007, 12:23 PM
This is basic, but I am new to this game still. I bought a firewire cable and now want to connect macbook to imac to transfer and update files mainly photos and docs and Tv recordings from eye TV on to laptop to take away. Both are identical OX bought at the same time. Thanks

cosmichobo
11th October 2007, 12:33 PM
Hi susieW,

All you have to do, is restart one of them (either way really), and hold down the "T" key as it starts up again.

That will initiate "firewire mode", turning the computer basically into a big hard drive.

Then use the firewire cable (needs to have 2 "fat" ends, not 1 fat/1 skinny) to connect them up, and the "T" machine will appear as an external drive.

Transfer files at will.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58583

patcanuck
11th October 2007, 12:40 PM
Someone who has done this more recently than I have will come along and give you the accurate info. Basically it is a matter of booting one of them in "target mode". Turn both off; connect with firewire cable. Turn both on but hold the "T" key down on the one you want to show up as an external drive on the desktop of the other mac. Continue holding down until it appears on the other desktop then release. Now you can start moving things back and forth. :)
I found this by going to "HELP" at the top of your menu when in Finder:
To use FireWire target disk mode

Make sure that the target computer is turned off. If you are using a PowerBook or iBook as the target computer, you should also plug in its AC power adapter.
Use a FireWire cable (6-pin to 6-pin) to connect the target computer to a host computer. The host computer does not need to be turned off.