PDA

View Full Version : Front row missing



Aa
1st September 2007, 02:54 PM
hi kids, i've just set up a last revision 17" iMac complete with isight and remote, and imported my previous machine through the set up interface ...all sweet. working perfectly.

But where's Front Row? It's not loaded into system/core services where it should be. Is it missing because i've imported my previous machine? (an old powerbook g4).

if so how can I get it onto my machine? i have both install discs 1 and 2. is there anything i am missing?


...Gotta run just now but i'll check for responses later this arvy,

choy
1st September 2007, 08:36 PM
you can try inserting the install discs and see whether you can upgrade the OS from there. If it doesn't let you then the best option is to do a clean install and then use the migration assistant to migrate your stuff from the G4 powerbook.

bartron
1st September 2007, 09:08 PM
Download the ltest front row from apple (from here) (http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/frontrow131.html)

since you have a mac that can use it, it should just work

Alec Fraser
1st September 2007, 09:53 PM
Bartron, I'm not so sure that that'll work. I tried to do the same with the Airport Extreme utility because I've lost my N discs. When I tried to run the pack that I'd downloaded, it wanted an existing software version.

One thing you could do is reinstall OS X from the 17" discs and then keep all users and applications. Do a custom install to include Front Row and exclude all the other crap. Probably the simplest way to fix it.

rpjallan
1st September 2007, 11:54 PM
Bartron is correct - you can just download it and install it.

geektechnu
2nd September 2007, 12:01 AM
Just in case, this looks interesting:
How To Install Front Row using Enabler - AndrewEscobar.com (http://andrewescobar.com/frontrow/)

Installs Front Row on any Mac, bypassing hardware/software checks.

Tiprya
2nd September 2007, 12:04 AM
With Leopard including Front Row for all macs, does anyone know if it lets you set which keys and stuff activate it?

It would be cool if I could get a bluetooth remote to work with it on my computer

mattmac
2nd September 2007, 03:42 AM
Just in case, this looks interesting:
How To Install Front Row using Enabler - AndrewEscobar.com (http://andrewescobar.com/frontrow/)

Installs Front Row on any Mac, bypassing hardware/software checks.

Doesn't work anymore with the latest update :(

geektechnu
2nd September 2007, 09:30 AM
Doesn't work anymore with the latest update :(
FrontRow 1.3 (the previous update) here:
http://supportdownload.apple.com/download.info.apple.com/Apple_Support_Area/Apple_Software_Updates/Mac_OS_X/downloads/061-2709.20060912.froU3/FrontRowUpdate1.3.dmg

nicwithsticks
2nd September 2007, 10:59 AM
With Leopard including Front Row for all macs, does anyone know if it lets you set which keys and stuff activate it?


Command+Escape will launch Front Row if you don't have a controller.

mattmac
2nd September 2007, 11:42 AM
FrontRow 1.3 (the previous update) here:
http://supportdownload.apple.com/download.info.apple.com/Apple_Support_Area/Apple_Software_Updates/Mac_OS_X/downloads/061-2709.20060912.froU3/FrontRowUpdate1.3.dmg

Ohh what.. that just worked. Finally the enabler found it on my desktop :D champion. Long story and complicated but now when I ask it to patch system files it says These files may already be patched by enabler. But frontrow isn't working..

Aa
3rd September 2007, 06:35 AM
Sorry for the delayed response, and thanks for all f the responses.. I actually ended up having a full weekend away from the mac.:)

thatfilthyspringbok was right, i get an error message asking for existing software. I'm not sure why it wasn't installed in the first place.

i wasn't aware that I could do a custom install without losing the stuff already migrated from my powerbook... My one concern is running into issues with itunes etc.. But i guess if i don't open them until updating everything again i should be right there.

Give it ago this morning


PS front row enabler is only for power pc macs and is no use for intel macs.