PDA

View Full Version : Mac OS X Server - where will "it" live?

rickyd
18th August 2007, 06:18 PM
Hey,

I am interested in the upcoming release of Leopard Server, and was taking a look at the home page. http://www.apple.com/server/macosx/leopard/

All these calendar servers, wiki's, directory servers etc live? Can I put them on my local drive and be able to connect to them from my internal wireless network? Or is it also possible to get in from the outside via the Internet.

I am very new to all this "Server" jazz and was just wanting to learn what it's all about.

TIA,
Ricky.

purana
18th August 2007, 06:21 PM
Or is it also possible to get in from the outside via the Internet.

Any service ran on your internal network can be accessible from the internet, as long as you have a static ip (or setup a dyndns address to your none static ip) and then forward the port/s through your router.

rickyd
18th August 2007, 06:22 PM
Thanks purana,

My only concern is my network is a mere airport one. is this a problem?

Jedda
18th August 2007, 07:07 PM
Thanks purana,

My only concern is my network is a mere airport one. is this a problem?

No, but if you have to ask that, it's probably a bit too high end for you to setup and maintain.

rickyd
18th August 2007, 07:08 PM
Rightio, but where can I go to learn how to do so?

Jedda
18th August 2007, 07:15 PM
Rightio, but where can I go to learn how to do so?

http://www.apple.com/server/documentation/

is a good start.

rickyd
18th August 2007, 07:29 PM
From the 'Getting Started' PDF it looks like you need an Xserve??

decryption
18th August 2007, 07:38 PM
From the 'Getting Started' PDF it looks like you need an Xserve??

Nope, Mac OS X Server works on any Mac. The XServe is just a more robust Mac designed for server duties.

rickyd
18th August 2007, 07:45 PM
Cool. So all this IP, MAC address and other fancy mambo will be found on my AirPort Extreme??

iSlayer
18th August 2007, 07:46 PM