PDA

View Full Version : .mac personal domain name?



Pal-o-mine
17th August 2007, 03:59 PM
I recently took Smartyhost up on their $12.99 domain names in preperation for iLife '08 and iWeb's new personal domain name function. I followed the instructions in iWeb and setup my personal domain under the file menu.
I then went over to my domain name account at smartyhost and URL redirected to web.mac.com. as per the iWeb instructions.
Problem is, now if i attempt to visit my site at the iWeb published URL I end up at the .mac home page.
Any suggestions?

bartron
17th August 2007, 04:01 PM
did you re-direct to yout .mac home page (complete URL) or just to web.mac.com?

Pal-o-mine
17th August 2007, 04:04 PM
Just web.mac.com - not right eh?

bartron
17th August 2007, 04:08 PM
point it to web.mac.com/whatever/the/home/page/url/is and see how you go.

mattmac
17th August 2007, 04:09 PM
Just web.mac.com - not right eh?

You need to direct it to your registered web.mac address.

Go to http://web.mac.com now, its not yours is it :p so you need to tell your hosting/domain to redirect to your own whatever that address may be.

Pal-o-mine
17th August 2007, 04:12 PM
point it to web.mac.com/whatever/the/home/page/url/is and see how you go.

Thanks i"ll give it a try.

macsyd
17th August 2007, 07:01 PM
Can I ask what may be a dumb question?

How is this feature different to just URL forwarding?

Galumay
17th August 2007, 07:39 PM
its not a dumb question! i have just been looking at this and as i already forward my domain to my .mac iWebsite i cant see any advantage!

i suspect the only difference is that once someone goes to your site it still displays your domain URL rather than with the forwarding where it will display the .mac URL after the redirection.

the_OM
17th August 2007, 07:58 PM
I've registered a domain name with verio, but everytime I tried to create a cname record as per apple's instructions to point it towards web.mac.com it keeps saying Bad record: <site name> 86400 IN CNAME web.mac.com

I've tried pointing it to web.mac.com and my username at web.mac.com. I know people have been having issues with godaddy in the apple discussion forums, but does anyone know how to change the verio settings?

Currawong
17th August 2007, 08:21 PM
It should point to web.mac.com. Nothing else, no other combination, no bits added on. When a request is forwarded to web.mac.com, the web.mac.com server is given the original URL it was forwarded from, and using some trickery, gives you the correct site.

Check when you typed in the box in .Mac to put in the url you didn't type www. In my case, www.mac.currawong.net forwards to my .Mac iWeb home page. In the box in .Mac to set it up i typed "mac.currawong.net" as the "www." is already included.

zaskar
25th August 2007, 01:06 PM
I've been trying to do this as well all week...but with not luck to my "locktonimage.com" domain (registered with smartyhost.com.au)

On my smartyhost domain control panel i have put in the the following

http://img503.imageshack.us/img503/8672/picture3ct0.th.png (http://img503.imageshack.us/my.php?image=picture3ct0.png)

interestingly i am unable to put in "web.mac.com" in both hostnames.

I have pointed my .mac account in the right direction
http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/9859/picture4kn0.th.png (http://img214.imageshack.us/my.php?image=picture4kn0.png)

I'm lost as to what to do, its been 72hrs since i changed it, so that is plently of time to propogate around the web. Indeed www.locktonimage.com is seeing something, just not my .mac website! Help!

Currawong
25th August 2007, 01:18 PM
EEk! No, you've now stuffed up your domain. It's not domain name servers you are setting, it's a subdomain alias. You need to change your nameservers back to whatever they used to be.

zaskar
25th August 2007, 01:36 PM
Okay i've changed the nameservers back to standard settings, but I'm unable to locate the subdomain alias on my control page. What should i be looking for?

It seems that even if i attempt to forward to a URL, i run into problems!

http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/8242/picture5rl6.th.png (http://img521.imageshack.us/my.php?image=picture5rl6.png)

Currawong
25th August 2007, 06:30 PM
You want to make the DNS entry for www.yourdomain.com an ALIAS or CNAME (different control panels list it differently) for web.mac.com. It's not a URL forward.

Eg: www.mactalk.com.au points to 210.9.75.204. This is an A record (in DNS-speak).
www.mac.currawong.net points to web.mac.com. This is a CNAME record (in DNS-speak).

You want to create something like the latter example above. Annoyingly, every control panel I've seen describes it differently and most have the most damn confusing menu systems.

Pal-o-mine
27th August 2007, 11:04 AM
Can I ask what may be a dumb question?

How is this feature different to just URL forwarding?

Hmmm, glad I brought this up :o . I can't see any way of changing the CNAME in smartyhosts control panel and have pretty much lost interest and decided to simply URL forward to my .mac address. Not as clean but I think I am the only person who will notice.

zaskar
27th August 2007, 02:23 PM
yeek!!! smartyhost and .mac are not compatible. Smartyhost needs a ip address rather than URL to host. Iresspective you need DNS hosting from smartyhost rather than just a simple domain registration! Now for plan B....domain redirection.

Alec Fraser
27th August 2007, 02:49 PM
You need to direct it to your registered web.mac address.

Go to http://web.mac.com now, its not yours is it :p so you need to tell your hosting/domain to redirect to your own whatever that address may be.

Actually it is web.mac.com. When the forwarded request comes in from the URL it checks to see if it's registered and displays the appropriate content.