PDA

View Full Version : Some Newbie Questions

dracomjb
31st January 2005, 09:51 PM
Just trying to get some things setup and working on my new Mac Mini. I'm a relative novice to OS X, I've played around a little bit, had a little bit of Linux experience but generally a Windows user.

1st - Trying to install a printer driver. I&#39;ve downloaded a drive from the Lexmark website (Dell A940 printer that is a rebadged Lexmark X5150) and have this .hqx file. Opening this hqx file stuffit fails at the end with "An error has occurred while expanding the file <filename> (Archive was compressed with an unknown compression method). Error #17535. Is there anything else I can try and extract this driver with?

2nd - How do I get the extra buttons on my Logitech MX900 working? The middle button and the 2 on the left side don&#39;t work. I&#39;d love to be able to use the 2 on the left side to navigate forwards and back in web browsers.

3rd - How do I increase the time before the screen power saves? I&#39;d like to see the screen saver first.

I&#39;m sure there will be more questions to come, these are the first.

Ozi
31st January 2005, 09:57 PM
Logitech Mouse: http://www.appletalk.com.au/articles/index.php?article=985 :P

Screensaver: Open "System Preferences" then choose "Energy Saver." Then set it to "Highest Performance"

Then go back to "desktop and screensaver" in system preferences, and tell the screensaver to active after 1 minute. You can also tell it to "test" the screensaver if you want. :)

tempestas
31st January 2005, 10:01 PM
OK I can answer 3 and I&#39;ll attempt the others

3) Open System Preferences under the Apple menu then Energy Saver and change the time to display sleep.

2) I&#39;d check the keyboard mouse under System preferences else see if there are relevant drivers to download from the logitech site.&#092;