PDA

View Full Version : OSX is turning into Windows



InsanelyGreat
29th July 2007, 09:42 PM
Ok, so lately my MacBook has really been pissing me off. It's gotten really buggy lately, it's like I'm using Windows. Applications constantly freeze, and refuse to force quite - forcing me to restart. I've restarted 3 times today. Also, the fan seems to be going crazy - it's on constantly on even when I'm doing simple things like surfing the web.

It's been going great ever since I bought it at the end of last year, till now. Has this happened to anyone else? What can I do to make my Mac work well again? (without reinstalling OSX)

mwot
29th July 2007, 09:45 PM
i'm finding that the wireless on my MB is very slow ... where pages used to load in an instant, i'm now left wondering whether or not Safari has stalled. or YouTube vids take an eternity to load, for instance.

wireless on my iMac, however, is as snappy as can be.

ClockWork
29th July 2007, 09:48 PM
Open your HD -> open Applications -> open Utilities -> double-click to open: Disk Utility - and run a Verify Disk Permissions over the HD - followed by a Repair Disk Permissions.

Start there.

Next - a squizz at the Console...

Cam
29th July 2007, 09:48 PM
There are a few things..


load activity monitor and monitor the CPU usage of your apps..

load console and make sure there are no errors in your system log..

dev_enter
29th July 2007, 09:48 PM
I'm having a similar experience with my 3 1/2 year old PowerBook, it also sounds like it's accessing the hard drive like crazy when this happens.

I think my hard drive is done for.

InsanelyGreat
29th July 2007, 10:00 PM
Thanks for the quick replies guys. ClockWork: I verified and repaired my disk permissions - it seems to have done a fair bit. This is the summary after repairing:


Repairing permissions for “Macintosh HD”
Determining correct file permissions.
User differs on ./Applications, should be 0, owner is 501
Group differs on ./Applications, should be 80, group is 501
Permissions differ on ./Applications, should be drwxrwxr-x , they are drwxr-xr-x
Owner and group corrected on ./Applications
Permissions corrected on ./Applications
Permissions differ on ./Library/Application Support/Macromedia, should be drwxrwxr-x , they are drwxrwxrwx
Owner and group corrected on ./Library/Application Support/Macromedia
Permissions corrected on ./Library/Application Support/Macromedia
Permissions differ on ./private/var/log/secure.log, should be -rw------- , they are -rw-r-----
Owner and group corrected on ./private/var/log/secure.log
Permissions corrected on ./private/var/log/secure.log
Permissions differ on ./usr/standalone/i386/boot.efi, should be -r--r--r-- , they are -r-xr-xr-x
Owner and group corrected on ./usr/standalone/i386/boot.efi
Permissions corrected on ./usr/standalone/i386/boot.efi

Permissions repair complete
The privileges have been verified or repaired on the selected volume

Cam: after checking my CPU usage it seems there's an app called PrintJobMgr taking up 98-99%. This seems..odd. Here's a screenshot of the activity monitor -

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/4356/screenjq5.jpg

ClockWork
29th July 2007, 10:07 PM
yep - as Cam says - step 2 - check the Console Log.

actually - might be worth while doing a quick Disk check - takes hardly any time:

Restart your MacBook with both the Apple-Command :cmd: key and the S key down. You'll see the regular grey screen and Apple - and then they'll be replaced with a black background and white text.

Wait for the text to scroll down before it ends in: root#

Then type:

/sbin/fsck -fy

and hit your return key

It will begin testing your HD. If it finds problems, it will repair them. You know it has finished when everything ends in: root# - once again.

Then type: reboot

and hit your return key again.

If the problem(s) persist - go to next step - check the Console Log:

Open your HD -> open Applications -> open Utilities -> double-click to open Console.

In the Console, click once on : Logs - and in the left panel, click on: system.log - Select All to copy it, and paste it back into here - and we can all have a look at what's happening inside your MacBook.

cw

ClockWork
29th July 2007, 10:13 PM
What model of printer do you have there IG ?

AddIt: and are you running latest OS X software?

InsanelyGreat
29th July 2007, 10:26 PM
ClockWork: I did the disk check, didn't find any problems. I have a Canon MP800. As soon as I quit the PrintJobMgr process the fans shut off and all seems to be well. I guess I'll just uninstall the printer drivers, I hardly use it anyway...

ClockWork
29th July 2007, 10:55 PM
Yesh - it might be worthwhile Uninstalling your Canon MP800 software - and - if you're still using the Canon PIXMA MP800 - to download the latest drivers for it - here (http://alpha03.c-wss.com/inc/ApplServlet?SV=WWUCA900).

It says that the MP800 Printer Driver Ver. 4.1.9 is compatible with Intel. Perhaps the version you installed came from a pre-Intel Installation CD.

See how you fair.

cw

Currawong
29th July 2007, 11:52 PM
Same issue happens with me and my MP500 - if a print job becomes stuck, the PrintJobMgr goes bananas and the machine appears to be sluggish.

halledise
30th July 2007, 06:41 AM
Same issue happens with me and my MP500 - if a print job becomes stuck, the PrintJobMgr goes bananas and the machine appears to be sluggish.

ah yes - Canon software for the Mac - always been a nightmare for me in the past which is why I stay away from their otherwise excellent products.:rolleyes:

MrJesseRoss
30th July 2007, 12:23 PM
Erm... Is there any reason why Activity Monitor doesn't want to work on my iMac?

I open it, it bounces in the Dock, then closes. I try again, and it just appears/disappears. Any ideas? I'd like to see what's going on in my Mac, but it doesn't seem to want to play nice :(

Currawong
30th July 2007, 01:19 PM
half goon: Try a permissions repair. A few of the Apple utilities have special permissions set to run, but something or other can break those permissions causing the app to fail. Otherwise, there should be a crash report for it in your user folder -> Library -> Logs -> CrashReporter which will reveal the answer.

Alex Morrow
30th July 2007, 01:21 PM
As a matter of interest, I downloaded something for my daughter the other day; sixteen pages long, and quite a few diagrams. When I asked for it to be printed, twenty minutes later it had done about one quarter of one page. Everything else was gummed up too. PrintJobManager was, as with yours, using over 90% of CPU. I got around it by printing one page at a time - probably no quicker than otherwise, but at least it seemed as if I was getting somewhere. The document was an InDesign one, with the extension .indd. I have an HP printer. I was blaming the document but from what I read here, the problem may be with printer drivers.

MrJesseRoss
30th July 2007, 01:30 PM
half goon: Try a permissions repair. A few of the Apple utilities have special permissions set to run, but something or other can break those permissions causing the app to fail. Otherwise, there should be a crash report for it in your user folder -> Library -> Logs -> CrashReporter which will reveal the answer.

I did a permissions repair last night because of this thread, actually. So I don't think that's it. But here is the crash log:



Host Name: ******
Date/Time: 2007-07-30 11:50:48.556 +0930
OS Version: 10.4.10 (Build 8R218)
Report Version: 4

Command: Activity Monitor
Path: /Applications/Utilities/Activity Monitor.app/Contents/MacOS/Activity Monitor
Parent: WindowServer [63]

Version: 1.5 (54)

PID: 1141
Thread: Unknown

Link (dyld) error:

Library not loaded: /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/GraphKit.framework/Versions/A/GraphKit
Referenced from: /Applications/Utilities/Activity Monitor.app/Contents/MacOS/Activity Monitor
Reason: image not found

What is the missing image, and how do I find it?

W2ttsy
30th July 2007, 01:33 PM
As a matter of interest, I downloaded something for my daughter the other day; sixteen pages long, and quite a few diagrams. When I asked for it to be printed, twenty minutes later it had done about one quarter of one page. Everything else was gummed up too. PrintJobManager was, as with yours, using over 90% of CPU. I got around it by printing one page at a time - probably no quicker than otherwise, but at least it seemed as if I was getting somewhere. The document was an InDesign one, with the extension .indd. I have an HP printer. I was blaming the document but from what I read here, the problem may be with printer drivers.

sounds like 1 of 2 things.

1) your printer most likely has no RAM and no native methods for printing large complex files. so it slowly transfers and prints the document. USB, being the slow buzzard that it is probably didnt help to much either.

2) your printer has no post script drivers installed, so InDesign had to convert all of it to non post script print and then get the printer to print it, introducing problem 1.

W2ttsy

Alex Morrow
30th July 2007, 01:43 PM
W2ttsy
I don't know enough to know about those things - it's an HP PSC 1510 - normally works well for me, but this job was s...l...o...w.
Thanks for the tips, though.

ClockWork
30th July 2007, 02:10 PM
Alex:

To eliminate the possibility, Spotlight or Find all incidences of: PSC 1510
and Trash them.

Then, click on : http://welcome.hp.com/country/au/en/support.html?pageDisplay=drivers

Type: PSC 1510 - into the Download drivers and software (and firmware) panel and hit your return key.

In the list, click on: HP PSC 1510 All-in-One - (or which ever version of the HP 1510 All-In-One you have).

Click on: Mac OS X.

And there you will see softeware drivers for the HP PSC 1510 All-in-One - for Mac OS X 10.2.8 / Mac OS X 10.3 & 10.4 / and Mac OS 9 & Mac OS X 10.1 - depending on what Operating System you are currently running.

This is presuming that the printer software you installed for your HP PSC 1510 All-in-One may have come from a possibly incompatible CD Installer.

marc
30th July 2007, 02:25 PM
Alex Morrow: Might just be a big file. Small printers don't like big files! Some design documents can take 40+ mins on decent printers with loads of ram in them, so it's no surprise that a consumer printer can be bogged down with some files.

half goon half god: Not a solution, but you could always use the Top command in Terminal.app.

ClockWork
30th July 2007, 02:31 PM
What is the missing image, and how do I find it?

Presuming your Activity Monitor is inside your Utilities folder - which is inside your Applications folder - which is inside your HD... and if it isn't - it should be - it would appear that Activity Monitor's crucial file is missing in its Package Content.

To actually see if this be so, hold down your control key, and click "down" on the Activity Monitor.app - and a pop-out menu will appear.

Release your control key, and scroll down to: Open Package Contents.

Double-click on the single folder, named: Contents

Double-click on the folder within that, named: Mac OS

Now... is there a very dark grey UNIX Executible file in there with what looks like the beginning of tiny green text in its top-left corner, and named: Activity Monitor ?

MrJesseRoss
30th July 2007, 03:13 PM
Presuming your Activity Monitor is inside your Utilities folder - which is inside your Applications folder - which is inside your HD... and if it isn't - it should be - it would appear that Activity Monitor's crucial file is missing in its Package Content.

To actually see if this be so, hold down your control key, and click "down" on the Activity Monitor.app - and a pop-out menu will appear.

Release your control key, and scroll down to: Open Package Contents.

Double-click on the single folder, named: Contents

Double-click on the folder within that, named: Mac OS

Now... is there a very dark grey UNIX Executible file in there with what looks like the beginning of tiny green text in its top-left corner, and named: Activity Monitor ?

Haha, I haven't moved things around! I learnt that the hard way back in the Windows days!

And yes, that Unix Executable File is definitely there.:)

Alex Morrow
30th July 2007, 03:31 PM
Thanks, ClockWork and marc. Will try CW's suggestion tonight when I've got time. It's possible it was just the size of the file, since the printer works fine otherwise.

Arkhum_Eramak
30th July 2007, 03:34 PM
Yeah, on my dual 1.25GHz G4 with my Canon PIXMA iP6600D when I print something, whether it is a word doc or a DVD label, both my CPUs crank up to over 90% usage. It always baffled me, but they print pretty fast so I try not to think too much about it.

Cam
30th July 2007, 05:36 PM
the problem is, with all of the changes over the past few years, it would seem that the printer manufacturers cant keep up or just too lazy to post driver updates. alot of the drivers out there dont work, are sluggish, or built for PPC and not Intel (so run under rosetta and take a hella'lot of RAM).

i've found that canon are suckers for this. canon scanners have problems too. it would seem that the canon scanner application/driver sits in the background and searches for the scanner constantly, and when doing so, writes to dmesg every few seconds..

I would also check the output of dmesg in terminal.

meinrosebud
30th July 2007, 05:45 PM
Manufacturers being lazy to save a dollar. Enough said

ClockWork
30th July 2007, 06:58 PM
Haha, I haven't moved things around! I learnt that the hard way back in the Windows days!

And yes, that Unix Executable File is definitely there.:)

Okay... open the Terminal, and copy / paste the following into the Terminal:

ls -la /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/GraphKit.framework/Versions/A/GraphKit

hit your return key

What does it come back with?

cw