PDA

View Full Version : iMac 350 purchase...



applecollector
28th January 2005, 01:52 PM
Hi,

I just bought an iMac 350 http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...item=5158906942 (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5158906942)
was it worth it????
the cd dosen't work, but i can load files from 1 computer to another with a pen drive right???
Since the cd dosent work what sort of screw driver do i need to open up the case???
And how can i put os x on it dosent matter what version.
Thankyou in advance :D

EDIT: fixed title to something less generic. :)

josh64
28th January 2005, 01:59 PM
I'd say it was worth it

I don't know what screw driver you need, but with regards to OS X it should be a matter of simply inserting the install CD and booting while holding down the 'C' key on a keyboard.

iSlayer
28th January 2005, 02:00 PM
thats a good buy.
putting in a replacement drive is fairly easy and for $50 you can get a cdrw and that makes it a cheap system

if you have another mac you can boot it into target mode and copy os x over thru that.

Bob
28th January 2005, 02:15 PM
BUGGER!!

I had that on my watch list to bid on, but completely forgot!

Bob

PS: Yes, it was a good buy.

Radar
28th January 2005, 02:29 PM
The only problem is going to be with finding a compatible CD drive. You can't just go out and buy any old drive, you need to find a slimline IDE drive. Good luck with it, because i've been looking for one for over 2 years now.

Bob
28th January 2005, 02:31 PM
Originally posted by Radar@Jan 28 2005, 02:29 PM
The only problem is going to be with finding a compatible CD drive. You can't just go out and buy any old drive, you need to find a slimline IDE drive. Good luck with it, because i've been looking for one for over 2 years now.
Radar, there is one of these available right now on eBay. I don't have the link onn me, but ill report back.

iSlayer
28th January 2005, 02:32 PM
maybe an external drive is the way to go then.
$50 for a drive and 50-70 for a case

chris
28th January 2005, 02:34 PM
Last time I opened up my kid's imac I seem to remember just using a regular phillips head screwdriver. It definitely helps to have a magnetic one. I got a slot loading CD drive for it from a second hand mac selling shop for $25.

Regards,

Chris

purana
28th January 2005, 02:36 PM
Yes phillips head screwdriver is typically all you need, or what we used when repairing these drives. Original poster should see PM I sent them.

Disko
28th January 2005, 02:45 PM
How to pull one of these suckers apart - courtesey of the_argon: http://www.appletalk.com.au/articles/index.php?article=436

Phillip
28th January 2005, 03:26 PM
The slot load drives are not rare. I have seen them a few times on eBay.

And opening the iMac is a piece of cake. ;)

vicmeldrew
28th January 2005, 04:34 PM
Originally posted by applecollector@Jan 28 2005, 01:52 PM


And how can i put os x on it dosent matter what version.

Make sure you update the firmware before you try to install OSX.
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=75130#English
I am going to do the same OSX upgrade to a imac 400DV when I get the chance, and have heard it is very important to get the firmware update first.
Gee, those imacs are getting cheap on ebay.

Richard

Currawong
28th January 2005, 04:49 PM
Since this is a help topic, I'm moving it to the help forum :)

applecollector
28th January 2005, 09:13 PM
Well thanks for all of your help,
As i write this i'm on my new iMac,
(it's so cool) it has Mac OS 9.2
I'm no sure if i should upgrade to OS X
it has 128mb of Ram, i tried to install a stick of
ram but it's just somehow didn't want to go in, it was the
same size and all but still no go, any ideas??? :)

LCGuy
28th January 2005, 10:01 PM
Are you sure it was SDRAM and not DDR, and that you were putting it in the right way around?

applecollector
29th January 2005, 10:12 AM
Yea it came from a Power Computing Centre 150 (apple clone) i put it around the right way
it was the same size and all but still.
Anyway i will have another go today! :)

LCGuy
29th January 2005, 10:42 AM
Theres your problem. The RAM used in the pre-G3 PCI PowerMacs is NOT the same as that used in G3s, G4s and iMacs. The pre-G3 PCI PMs take 5V DRAM DIMMs. Newer Macs (up to 2002) take 3.3v SDRAM DIMMs. There IS a HUGE difference between the two.