PDA

View Full Version : What kind of RAM do I need? (MacBook Pro)



Sunnz
8th July 2007, 03:08 PM
I am getting the new Santa Macbook Pro and I am thinking of buying 4 GiB of RAM for it and replace it by myself...

Is it really cheap to do it this way than to do it through Apple?

If so, what kind of RAM do I need? Is MBP picky on brand, speed, etc?

Thanks.

Huy
8th July 2007, 03:11 PM
Yes it is cheaper.

200-pin, DDR2-667 (PC2-5300) RAM, notebooks.

If you want 4GB I'd say that's going to cost about $400 or so. Maybe less... depends on brand etc like you said.

Streetwise have it for $189 for 1x 2GB.
http://www.streetwise.com.au/product_info.php?cPath=31_177&products_id=5168

So for two it's under $400.
If you want a branded one (Kingston) it'll be exactly $400.

pdra05
10th July 2007, 10:29 PM
Get those RAMs anywhere but Apple!!!!!

Sunnz
11th July 2007, 12:55 AM
Thanks... so Kingston are the best? Are they like Apple certified or something?

Huy
11th July 2007, 01:10 AM
Kingston is a premium brand. It will work in your machine. It meets Apple's specifications. There's no such thing as "certified" RAM, but it will work :)

Sunnz
11th July 2007, 01:16 AM
So it is just a better brand?

noidea
11th July 2007, 01:32 AM
another brand i recommended is corsair. They do have 2GB ram in a 200pin,

Huy
11th July 2007, 01:43 AM
Yeah Kingston is just a better brand. I recommend Corsair as well.

Sunnz
13th July 2007, 03:52 AM
Anyway I had took a look around... it seems like the Santa Rosa and pre-Santa Rosa uses the exact same type of RAM, that is, you can unplug a pre-Santa one and plug it into a Santa Rosa MBP, am I terribly wrong?

Currawong
13th July 2007, 08:58 AM
All MacBook Pro's use the same RAM.

WonderBoy
13th July 2007, 09:26 AM
What's this "Santa Rosa"? Is this some sort of code name?

sanjay
13th July 2007, 11:25 AM
santa rosa is the name intel has given to its latest generation of intel centrino chipset.

but ive said it many times and i'll say it again.

NO APPLE NOTEBOOK WILL EVER BE CENTRINO-SPEC!

this is because they do not use intel wireless chips.

so stop calling the latest MBPs santa rosa, because they are very far removed from intel's centrino specification.

Sunnz
13th July 2007, 02:34 PM
so stop calling the latest MBPs santa rosa, because they are very far removed from intel's centrino specification.

Then what do you call it when you want to be specific?