PDA

View Full Version : top of the range powerbook?

adsis1
21st January 2005, 08:23 PM
hey guys i jus wanna get sum feedback on the powerbooks...
im studying a multimedia course at the moment and will be doing a video editing course soon after.... im thinking of purchasing either a
15" or 17" powerbook with
1GB of RAM
hard drive at 5400rpm
and 128MB of video memory
what do you guys think of these powerbooks?
i know they arent as powerful as the G5s but i will get one of those after my studies i think...

josh64
22nd January 2005, 12:27 AM
The 1.5 GHz g4 is a very speedy chip.

However, a lot of companies now show the powerbooks as End of Life so you would be better off waiting for the next revision which shouldn't be too far away. You could then probably get a current generation powerbook with a nice discount, or get a nice new one :)

Ozi
22nd January 2005, 12:36 AM
Yeah they rock but you are better waiting a while. :D

Give it a few months and new ones will have arrived.

see: http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/

Exocet
22nd January 2005, 04:28 AM
Bugger a few months, it should be here within weeks :o

suryo
22nd January 2005, 06:44 AM
I would personally go for a 15" in a few weeks when the time is right. The 17" seems too thin, kinda' fragile and a bit bulky to carry around. For the same price as a 17", you could get a 15" plus a nice huge monitor to plug into it when you're at your desk.

moo
22nd January 2005, 09:21 AM
I have one of the Albooks: 1.5, 64 video, 4200rpm, 1.5gig RAM - got it last June.
Works fine for me and multitasks well; do some video editing on it - only short movies 7-10 minutes in length using Final Cut Pro. It's good enough but no speed demon. But I need portability.

As the guys at Barefeats say: " Unless you are forced to edit in the field, the PowerBook G4 is a bad choice for a Final Cut Pro "editing station."
http://www.barefeats.com/fcp4.html

I also use my Albook for Dreamweaver, Photoshop and Flash and it handles those apps well.