PDA

View Full Version : Buying off eBay

PBLK
16th June 2007, 01:04 PM
Is there anything to look out for when buying a mac of ebay? I'm thinking of upgrading to a MacBook Pro from my Powerbook later this year and the prices on eBay are quite attractive. I paid full price from a reseller for my Powerbook in 2005 and thought a second-hand mac might be a better option next time.

natakim
16th June 2007, 01:06 PM
there are a couple for sale here.

Disko
16th June 2007, 01:10 PM
there are a couple for sale here.

... which he won't have access to for at least two months.

natakim
16th June 2007, 01:11 PM
... which he won't have access to for at least two months.

ops, my bad (read the rules idiot):o sorry.

jubilantjeremy
16th June 2007, 01:12 PM
Is there anything to look out for when buying a mac of ebay?

Everything!

I'm an ebay noob too. I got stuffed around with my first ever ebay.. purchase.. because I thought a feedback rating of 98.5% was good - turns out not if you have 4000 feedback comments..! That's like, 60 people who left negative feedback. And I was one of them :)

- Jeremy

dolbinau
16th June 2007, 01:17 PM
Jeremy, can you please share your story :P?

rtc
16th June 2007, 01:18 PM
The usual "look out for" s when buying anything off ebay.

I have my own ranking system (which i invented just now for the purpose of this post):

Something without an original photo (a stock or promo photo from the apple website doesn't count) gets 10 points for dodginess.

Any user requesting bank transfer gets 50 points for dodginess.

Anywhere international gets 20 points for dodginess. Asia gets 10 more bonus points. Hong kong or singapore get 10 additional bonus points each on top of the oringinal bonus points.

Anywhere with low or negative feedback gets 15 points for dodginess.