PDA

View Full Version : Quick Question



applecollector
2nd June 2007, 09:34 AM
Hello,
Can i install an Airport card in a 400Mhz Lombard G3 Powerbook?
as in is there a slot to install it to?
thanks

iPirate
2nd June 2007, 10:04 AM
From the MacTracker program, there would appear to be no Airport expansion available. You'd need at least a PowerBook (Firewire) "Pismo, P8, 102" to have even the option for 802.11b

Sorry to bring the bad news :(

Byrd
2nd June 2007, 10:19 AM
You'll have to look out for a Mac-compatible PCMCIA wireless card, the cheapest being a Lucent or Orinco Bronze/Silver/Gold card, but they're 801.11b only.

JB

applecollector
2nd June 2007, 10:56 AM
will a belkin 54mb work
and will it work with 10.3.9 & will it show up as an airport card in the menu bar?
thanks

Byrd
2nd June 2007, 11:06 AM
Belkin card: not sure, although I did read of a compatible one a while back. As long as you can confirm the chipset of the card with a working OS X driver, you're set.

All the PCMCIA cards use third-party software, none of which are detected as "Airport" cards. The software works, but is much crappier than Apple's solution.

I'm going to go looking for a similar PCMCIA card, for OS 9 (Powerbook 2400). Let me know if you find anything decent online :)

stewiesno1
2nd June 2007, 11:17 AM
I've seen these PC wireless cards come up on ebay US every now and then for older Powerbooks supposing to be airport compatible ,but I know nothing about them. I just thought I'd mention that they are around.
Stewie

applecollector
2nd June 2007, 11:21 AM
But then how would the client be able to connect to an airport network ?
if it doesn't show up in the menu bar ?

stewiesno1
2nd June 2007, 11:25 AM
Here we go. Heres one at least.OS10.2+ for Pismos, Lombards and Wallstreets. 802.1.1g
US$36 + shipping.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Airport-Wireless-PCMCIA-Card-for-Apple-PowerBook-G3-G4_W0QQitemZ150128578933QQihZ005QQcategoryZ80060QQ tcZphotoQQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

And another for older PB's-190,1400,4300,3400 etc and OS7,8 and 9.Also OSX. 802.11b and 802.11g networks. But US$75 + shipping. Ouch.
http://cgi.ebay.com/APPLE-POWERBOOK-PCMCIA-WIRELESS-CARD-MAC-WIFI-OS7-8-9-X_W0QQitemZ110050604957QQihZ001QQcategoryZ51041QQr dZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItem
Stewie

Byrd
2nd June 2007, 11:29 AM
But then how would the client be able to connect to an airport network ?
if it doesn't show up in the menu bar ?

An "Airport network" is just the same as any other wireless network! They usually have a little program running in the background (in your Dock). Forgot to mention, the ASUS WL-167G USB dongle is another option - you use the USB RaLink drivers. Works a treat.

stewiesno1: there are some Airport-compatible cards, that slide right into the same Airport slot, giving them full functionality. Or, a few that share the same chipset also work as PCMCIA cards/using Airport software. Haven't found many good examples of these, though.

JB

applecollector
2nd June 2007, 03:12 PM
ah ok thanks.
so the belkin one should work.
I gguess we will find out tonight when i give it to my client.
I'll post back as to how it works for future reference.