PDA

View Full Version : Firewire 800 - who uses it?



Dubhousing
24th May 2007, 09:37 PM
I was looking at My Macbook Pro today and wondered - when will I ever use the Firewire 800 port? I even have a cable but I have no idea what devices I can use it with, or why.

Anyone ever use it?

BlowMeDown
24th May 2007, 09:44 PM
I have nothing with FW800 so no, come to think of it I have nothing to use my express card slot with either. I think an extra USB would have been more useful.

bernie234
24th May 2007, 09:48 PM
I use an exterinal HD with FW800 for photos and find it very quick....... WD sata2 Drive

grorr76
24th May 2007, 09:48 PM
i use firewire 800 for my video editing setup. I have 2 d2 lacies drives daisey chained via firewire 800, it just leaves fw/400 in its wake with speed and efficiency. I just absolutly love it. Fw800 I have to say is really a pro feature, that general consumers wouldnt need. correct me if someone here does but thats my impression anyway.

tintinaujapon
24th May 2007, 09:48 PM
I use mine on my PB15" for ultra fast bootable backups and back and forth with an external LaCie.

decryption
24th May 2007, 09:53 PM
An external RAID-0 drive loves FireWire 800 :)
It's predominant use is for video guys who can't get enough speed.

rickyd
24th May 2007, 09:56 PM
It's handy to turn a desktop into a Mass Storage Device :P

ppops
24th May 2007, 10:08 PM
I have a d2 Lacie External HDD and use FW800 with my Powerbook. I love it. So much better than USB2 IMHO.

mechcon
24th May 2007, 10:40 PM
I hope to get a new external drive with fw800 connection

benmcgruer
24th May 2007, 10:47 PM
I've got an external hard drive with it, but an iMac without. Would use it if I could.

Alessiman
24th May 2007, 10:47 PM
Slighty off topic but has anyone seen a 2.5" sata enclose with FW or failing that an external 3.5" sata with FW?

p53
24th May 2007, 11:13 PM
alessiman, i've been looking for sata cases myself. streetwise.com.au have 2 3.5" ones:
this IceCube one (http://www.streetwise.com.au/product_info.php?cPath=28_136&products_id=4510) and this Macpower one (not in stock) (http://www.streetwise.com.au/product_info.php?cPath=28_136&products_id=5412)

Currawong
24th May 2007, 11:21 PM
Back when I first owned a Mac with coloured plastic, HD's were a bit slower than what you could get out of Firewire 400 and worked about equally as well inside the machine as they did via firewire in a G4 with ATA66. Moving to now, they are faster, so there's a definite benefit to running, say, a 500Gb external off of Firewire 800.

I believe there's at least one drive case that allows a full-sized HD to be powered off of FW800, something I'm very interested in tracking down to use with my MBP.

forgie
24th May 2007, 11:33 PM
Slighty off topic but has anyone seen a 2.5" sata enclose with FW or failing that an external 3.5" sata with FW?
This isn't FW, but USB2 is probably going to be more then adequate for a 2.5" HDD (they have less throughput then a 3.5"). And it's cheaper....

http://www.staticice.com.au/cgi-bin/search.cgi?q=vantec+260SU

mjankor
24th May 2007, 11:56 PM
Slighty off topic but has anyone seen a 2.5" sata enclose with FW or failing that an external 3.5" sata with FW?

Yes, and Mac Centre Norwood have them in stock. I can't remember the brand but they are FW400, FW800 and USB 2.0 2.5" drive enclosures. They are about $160- $180.

jeremy_warnock
24th May 2007, 11:58 PM
i use it with my powerbook and an external drive

Alessiman
25th May 2007, 12:24 AM
This isn't FW, but USB2 is probably going to be more then adequate for a 2.5" HDD (they have less throughput then a 3.5"). And it's cheaper....

http://www.staticice.com.au/cgi-bin/search.cgi?q=vantec+260SU

I've got the 3.5" versions.

The reason for firewire is i have a couple of 2.5" 160 gig drives that i want to use as a bootable backup

USB2 wont let me do that I am afraid. Well I am pretty sure it wont let me.

MacDave
25th May 2007, 06:06 AM
I have a 500 GB FW 800 HD connected to my Mac Pro:

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20World%20Computing/MAU8F7500G16/

Dave

BLINDER
25th May 2007, 06:52 AM
I've got a couple of FW800 drives that I use - Aperture library on one, video back-up on the other.
There's just no waiting around with them - nice and quick.
The big question is aside from drives what else uses FW800?

gizo
25th May 2007, 08:03 AM
We have a FW800 external HD for ProTools recordings...

BlowMeDown
25th May 2007, 08:05 AM
Slighty off topic but has anyone seen a 2.5" sata enclose with FW or failing that an external 3.5" sata with FW?


For a far less expensive alternative to the one's people have already directed you to, take a look at Cool Drives (http://cooldrives.stores.yahoo.net/2sahddencosa.html) and USB Gear (http://www.usbgear.com/usbgear-usb-drive-enclosure.html)

jimdrum
25th May 2007, 08:31 AM
Slighty off topic but has anyone seen a 2.5" sata enclose with FW or failing that an external 3.5" sata with FW?

Sure. I recently bought a Skymaster 3.5" box with FW , at a computer market in Sydney.
There are lots of brands available. They are not as common as USB 2 only enclosures, but they're around.

marc
25th May 2007, 08:59 AM
FW800 drive here for backups... Nice and quick.

jimdrum
25th May 2007, 09:04 AM
Slighty off topic but has anyone seen a 2.5" sata enclose with FW or failing that an external 3.5" sata with FW?

This link is from The Macobserver:
http://www.macobserver.com/article/2007/05/24.5.shtml

stewiesno1
25th May 2007, 09:16 AM
I think any video pro or someone that is a Photoshop jockey and uses big PS files would use the FW800 interface.Who likes to sit there and watch a progress bar crawl across the screen?
Has anyone got some real world benchmarks to compare USB2 to FW400 to FW800 transfer speeds ?
Any of you guys that have said yes I have an external XXXXXXX HD connected via FW800 should give us a product link or model no. Those that have already , thanks for the info.
Stewie

soulman
25th May 2007, 09:28 AM
I am about to start using it, when I buy this MacPower case (http://www.streetwise.com.au/product_info.php?products_id=4510).

On a related note, has anyone ever tried Target Disk Mode with FW800?

yinyang
25th May 2007, 10:56 AM
2 external triple interface hard drisks for me. Just got Super Duper and it took about 3 hrs for an entire backup of my 100Gb PowerBook (only 9Gb free), so i think that's pretty good!!

astr0b0y
25th May 2007, 06:49 PM
Slighty off topic but has anyone seen a 2.5" sata enclose with FW or failing that an external 3.5" sata with FW?

http://www.streetwise.com.au/product_info.php?cPath=28_136&products_id=5037

dotnet
25th May 2007, 11:51 PM
I bought a Lacie d2 FW800 drive for my wife's MBP as backup drive. Meanwhile I'm thinking she should be using the internal drive as backup and the external one as main drive... :eek:

It would be nice if SuperDuper could do intelligent two-way sync, then she could be using the fast external drive while at home and the slow internal one on the road...

Cheers
Steffen.