PDA

View Full Version : Should I buy a macbook or an ibook?

DebB
15th May 2007, 05:26 PM
Hi. I have been reading lots of good reviews about the new macbooks and am considering purchasing one soon. However, for every good review there seems to be a negative story too. I have never had a laptop of any description before and am by no means a 'power user'. I need it as a workhorse to run some music software for my students, record music from my keyboard onto CD, (I'm a music teacher) use word processing and basic DTP, burn DVDs and edit home video & photos. I would also like to be able to easily plug it into a TV at school to share programs with my students.

Now, there are two issues here - would a 2nd hand/discontinued ibook do all of these things well enough?, and secondly, is the new macbook a lemon? I would appreciate any replies as I have only just come back to macs after a long absence (last used performas!) and the OS 10 interface and new hardware are a complete mystery to me. It used to be "a mac is forever" but is this still true?

Thanks,
deb

nicwithsticks
15th May 2007, 05:37 PM
An iBook might do the trick, but they lack audio inputs, so an external soundcard would be needed. These are pretty easy to come by however, and aren't to expensive.

The MacBook is a great laptop and should do everything you need without any struggle. You will need to buy an extra adapter to plug it into a TV, they are about $30-$40.

As for the "Mac forever" mantra, you should be fine. I've been using Mac's since the days of Performa's and OS X is pretty simple to get the hang of, I think you'll be fine.

If you can, I'd get the MacBook. There are a few refurbished models in Apple's stores that are cheap as, and the current model is due to be superseded soon, so a price discount on them shouldn't be too far off.

Best of luck!

Byrd
15th May 2007, 05:40 PM