PDA

View Full Version : please help :( data recovery for excel file on mac :(

isoprophlex
11th May 2007, 09:19 PM
(major props who can help me on this one!)

OK here is what happened.

I had just spent most of yesterday afternoon/ evening creating a file from my Amazon.com book list, my Delicious Library list (not sure if anyone uses this program but it's awesome, allows you to scan using your iSight camera as a bar code reader) Any books I could remember I have read in the last few years... I saved this to a USB memory stick.

I was editing it tonight; I clicked save. then I took out the memory card (while excel was still open).

Thought to myself 'arh should be fine, I work in IT and have seen this done thousands of times before with nothing actually happening' (even though the error message popped up the default "it's not good to do this without ejecting the drive yet" message)

I then couldn't see the USB memory stick when I put it back into the computer (because it hadn't been mounted properly)

After doing this; my Mac updates had just finished installing. I proceeded to reboot my computer.... (with the USB memory stick still in the drive

After doing this; I wanted to make sure that the *.xls file was still ok;

I opened it up;

It had nothing in it; it was blank. I looked at the file information; said that it was; zero kb...

wtf....

Basically where I am at now is that I want to be able to recover this file somehow... Surely this can be done?

Ideas?

Cheers,
isoprophlex.

jeloz
11th May 2007, 09:22 PM
Our techs use this , often with results

http://www.prosofteng.com/products/data_rescue.php?PHPSESSID=894064f6ef038e83157945c4 fa6b8c52

Jeloz

isoprophlex
11th May 2007, 09:24 PM
would this work and have the same effect on a usb drive?

iso

Our techs use this , often with results

http://www.prosofteng.com/products/data_rescue.php?PHPSESSID=894064f6ef038e83157945c4 fa6b8c52

Jeloz

jeloz
11th May 2007, 09:33 PM