PDA

View Full Version : Mpeg playback in OSX



jarrodb
13th January 2005, 01:33 PM
I have a G4 17" 1.25GHz imac and an ELgato Eyehome digital media streamer.

For some reason I can not play back MPEG2 & MPEG4/3 files on the mac (both quicktime & MS Media Player), but they playback fine on the EyeHome and my Win PC.

I guess this is something to do with missing codecs etc, I have tried adding everything I can find but no luck.

Any help would be much appreciated.

iSlayer
13th January 2005, 01:37 PM
if they are recorded from an eyetv they are in a special format.

try playing them with VLC anyway

Disko
13th January 2005, 01:37 PM
VLC Media Player (http://www.videolan.org/vlc) or mplayer (http://www.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/design7/dload.html) will be able to play whatever you throw at them.

hawker
13th January 2005, 01:49 PM
Originally posted by Disko@Jan 13 2005, 01:37 PM
VLC Media Player (http://www.videolan.org/vlc) or mplayer (http://www.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/design7/dload.html) will be able to play whatever you throw at them.
Hey does anyone have a problem with VLC sezeing up their computer for like ten seconds when you first open it? Happens every time on my iMac and PowerBook. I get over it, and usually just leave VLC open :P

iSlayer
13th January 2005, 01:51 PM
is that with all files Hawker?
What version of VLC?

markh
13th January 2005, 01:54 PM
Nope. Only only complaint is that VLC doesnt play some versions of WMP (audio plays, but not video) more does i tplay real files

hawker
13th January 2005, 01:57 PM
Originally posted by islayer@Jan 13 2005, 01:51 PM
is that with all files Hawker?
What version of VLC?
all files.

the latest. 0.7.2- I think thats the latest?

Disko
13th January 2005, 01:57 PM
except those, markh. ;)

The windows media it wont play is the window media9 stuff that only windows media player can play. Gee that company make some catchy application and filetype names. http://www.appletalk.com.au/disko/whatever.gif

iSlayer
13th January 2005, 02:02 PM
lol disko.
nice smiley :)

And Hawker try VLC 0.8
its still in beta i think but i havent had any major problems with it.
just dont play mpeg2 files with it on a g5 :) you will understand why if you try it

hawker
13th January 2005, 02:07 PM
Originally posted by islayer@Jan 13 2005, 02:02 PM
lol disko.
nice smiley :)

And Hawker try VLC 8.0
its still in beta i think but i havent had any major problems with it.
just dont play mpeg2 files with it on a g5 :) you will understand why if you try it
Thanks islayer.

I don't have a G5 so I can't...

iSlayer
13th January 2005, 02:09 PM
thats good then.
for anyone else who does have a g5 vlc 0.8 has a bug in it where it will disable system audio.its only an issues with mpeg2 files
sometimes you will have to logout to fix it.

EDIT-Thanks Mark.

markh
13th January 2005, 02:09 PM
0.8.1 is the latest

kim jong il
13th January 2005, 02:56 PM
I still use VLC 0.7.2; 0.8.1 is a bug ridden dog IMO. Some idiot decided to add some gimicky features and screwed it totally basically.
However, to address the original question, to play these formats in the quicktime player, see the screen shot for the codecs you will need (and where they should be located). You can google all of these and download them for free (the xvid codec does nothing extra that I am aware of. The first four are essential pretty much) Once you have these quicktime player will be able to handle just about everything. Although I rarely use it it has some features that i like.

cheers, kim

PS the image is only around 50 KB

EDIT: except .wmv of course. What can I say about windows media files? Use the crappy buggy Microsoft offering of a player (POSware available from Microsoft)

jarrodb
13th January 2005, 03:00 PM
Thanks for your help everyone, I'll give it another go tonight and see what happens.

Cheers,

J

Disko
13th January 2005, 03:07 PM
:lol: Kim, those are some interesting HD names you've got there.

Byrd
13th January 2005, 03:08 PM
Originally posted by hawker@Jan 13 2005, 01:49 PM
Hey does anyone have a problem with VLC sezeing up their computer for like ten seconds when you first open it?
Yep, it seems pretty common on some various builds of VLC - but try another release, that usually fixes it.

JB

hawker
13th January 2005, 03:57 PM
Originally posted by islayer@Jan 13 2005, 02:09 PM
thats good then.
for anyone else who does have a g5 vlc 0.8 has a bug in it where it will disable system audio.its only an issues with mpeg2 files
sometimes you will have to logout to fix it.
islayer, it did not fix it :(

Have installed 0.8.1 but it looks heaps better!