PDA

View Full Version : iMovie HD to iDVD Video Quality Disappoinment

Cam89
9th May 2007, 09:12 PM
About me: Absolute newbie, never posted before. Please be kind.

I have spent many hours working on my home video using iMovie; then more time applying themes, building menus, importing slideshows using iDVD. I eventually burnt the DVD and all seemed to work okay.

Watching the DVD back I noticed that the colors were washed out. I never expected so much quality loss from conversion to DVD format. I played both the iDVD preview side by side with the DVD and it was very easy to see the difference. I am very happy with the color in both iMovie and iDVD.

1/ Is it normal for the encryption to DVD format to wash out the picture colour ?

2/ Is this a factor of the software that I have used ? Should I be using some other software?

3/ Or more likely, is it something that I have done? If so, do you have any clues as I have scanned every possible option to see if there is anything that was set incorrectly ?

General advice welcome as I have many hours of video ahead... 3 years worth of family video to be exact.

My Mac is
iMac G5, running
iDVD 5.0.1 (626)
iMovie 5.0.2

timwallG5
9th May 2007, 09:14 PM
First suggestion: use Software Update to update iMovie and iDVD to the latest versions. This may fix the problem immediately, or not.

timwallG5
9th May 2007, 09:18 PM
Oh, and make sure that, if you have a PAL project; you set iDVD to encode in PAL and not NTSC, and vice-versa.

PAL and NTSC are the two main world video standards. All Australian TVs use the PAL standard for video; and all American TVs use NTSC. PAL is generally better quality than NTSC, with a broader range of colours and a higher resolution image (it came afterwards, that's why...)

jerrah
9th May 2007, 09:19 PM
Just a guess: Have you checked that the output is in PAL?

icant
9th May 2007, 09:22 PM