PDA

View Full Version : I need some advice/assistance

bohemian_kitten
4th May 2007, 04:02 PM
Hi,

I'm pretty new to all of this, even though I was converted about 3 years ago, but now there's so much more that I want to do with my Mac and iBook.

So, I have a few questions:

First, I have been considering a virtual pc (or similar) program for some time, but I'm not sure how to go about it ... My Mac is an eMac circa 2004, 1.25GHz Power PC G4, with 512MB DDR SDRAM, running OS X 10.3.9. If I got Virtual PC (the only option I can see because of my Mac's age and the system requirements of other programs) complete with a windows operating system, would I then be able to install windows only applications (such as CorelDraw) onto my Mac to use through the virtual pc? (sorry I really am quite ignorant, but I am trying to learn!) Are there any other alternatives out there?

Plus, I am sick of setting up my old PC at the end of every financial year just so that I can do my tax through etax! (stupid ATO!)(even stupider PC cause it runs sooooooo slowly!)

Secondly, how many good graphics programs are there for Mac? (I'm looking at starting a home business around my kids, but graphics is a key part of it - And I n=have a lot to learn there too!)

My iBook is circa 2006, 1.42GHz Power PC G4, with 1GB DDR SDRAM, running OS X 10.4.8. Should I consider setting everything up on this instead, and if so, wouls I still need Virtual PC? (I'm pretty sure the iBook doesn't have an intel chip).

My other option is, we are looking to upgrade our eMac (pass it onto the kids) to a new iMac in the next financial year - should I wait for that, download Boot Camp and install a windows OS on that? Or would parallels be a better option? If so, do I just get a normal copy of windows, and which version do people recommend? Again, will other windows only apps work?

Sorry to seem like such a pain, but I am starting to recognise the true potential of my macs!

Thanks for any assistance or advice!