PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a Mac Lab



torchwood
3rd May 2007, 05:47 PM
Just purchased 15 iMacs for a small mac lab at school. We have also purchased some software with the required number of licenses for the number of machines we have.

Ideally, I'd like to set up one machine and then ghost (or whatever you call it) the disk image across to all of the others to avoid the repetitive setup process on each machine.

What is the best way to go about this?

Any advice would be much appreciated. :)

feeze
3rd May 2007, 06:24 PM
Apple remote desktop.

http://www.apple.com/au/remotedesktop/

Sam
3rd May 2007, 06:34 PM
http://www.bombich.com/

We use Carbon Copy Cloner + NetRestore to setup rollouts here at work.

Setup one machine how you like it, make a bootable hdd image of it using Carbon Copy Cloner.
Then use netrestore to install that image onto any mac conncted to the network, all via a simple netboot procedure.


EDIT: There is a complete tutorial on how to setup what you want HERE:

http://www.bombich.com/mactips/workshop.html


Enjoy - Sammie

melted.marsbar
3rd May 2007, 06:40 PM
I agree with Sam. NetRestore is a great app, and I have successfully used it a number of times to restore fleets of iBooks to a clean, fresh state (ie: ghosting a copy of a hard drive to each one) at the end of the schooling year.

Easy to use, and should be relatively fast with the iMacs :)

torchwood
3rd May 2007, 07:54 PM
Thanks heaps for the point in the right direction guys. :thumbup: