PDA

View Full Version : Ninja script

desmogod
24th April 2007, 01:13 PM
Hi guys.
I need a bit of a hand with scripting.
Now I know it's bad to have users as admins, but that is just the way it is in my organisation.
Now one of the things that these users do is switch off ARD when they realise I can use it to administer their machines.
What I would like to be able to achieve is to have a "ninja" background script or cron job to check every 30 seconds or so if the ARD daemon is running. if not, I want it to fire it up.
I'm pretty new to mac admin, so please go easy on me
Any help would be appreciated.

MacDave
25th April 2007, 01:27 AM
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=108030 <-this is how to fire up ARD in the CLI.

Your basic shell script would be: if ARD's process is running, then do nothing, else run kickstart.

Conversely, if ARD's process is not running, then run kickstart. Either is fine.

In cron, you can run the script by the minute:

*/1 * * * * <user> /path/to/script.sh

If you look at some of my shell scripts I've posted in the Terminal and UNIX forum, you'll see the bash syntax for conditional statements. Keep in mind also that when creating cronjobs in /etc/crontab on Tiger, there is no path set at the top of crontab so in your shell script, all paths to commands (such as "ps") must be complete or alternatively, you can put a path in crontab similar to the way it used to be in Panther.

http://macdave.com/chronicles/index.php <some of my shell scripts are here too, probably with all the syntax you need.

I'm just waking up now and still pretty fog-headed. If you need further assistance, just let me (us) know. Several of us could write the shell script for you, but then that's not as much fun, is it ? :)

Here's a tip:

[Isis:~] root# ps auxc | grep -c ARDAgent

That says that there is currently one ARDAgent process running on my Xserve.

Dave

MacDave
26th April 2007, 08:27 AM