PDA

View Full Version : PB 10.3.6 crashing "Exception state"

Zaq
9th December 2004, 03:51 PM
Hey peoples,

I've got a 2mth old PB 15" running the lastest OS + updates, also I'm only new to Macs. The PB has 2x512MB RAM supplied by Apple dealer but I installed shortly after purchase.

It crashes every 5-10 mins. I either get a a black screen with scolling white text saying

Exception state (sv=0x29FC6286)
PC= ..... JMSR= ..... DAR=.....

The sv number keeps changing too.

Other times safari or word just crashes and asks me if I'd like to report it. Still other times I get a black window, white text saying "You must now restart your machine by holding down reset button" is several languages.

Here's what I've tried.

I downloaded memtest for OSX and ran it 3 times. Came back all ok. Does this test all 1G of my RAM because when I ran memtest it seemed to lock approx 800mb for testing?

I also created a new user account and probs still persist on that.

I've heard of an Apple Diagnostics disk people get with their Mac. My PB only came with 2 installation disks. Am I missing a disk?

This prob has only been happening for 1 week. I think (not positive) since the last OS patches I downloaded from Apple which was the security update, ipod updates + bluetooth updates.

Are my problems hardware or software related?

Would it be worth nuking the PB and reinstalling the OS + apps from scratch?

Any ideas you guys could throw my way would be greatly appeciated.

cheers Zaq

Zaq
9th December 2004, 03:58 PM
Also just noticed too that when i go into about this Mac screen there normally is a "more info" button to click to get actual hardware info. This is now greyed out and i can't click it.....not sure what this means or if it's related to my prob.

cheers Zaq

Rayd
9th December 2004, 05:33 PM