PDA

View Full Version : X11 wont launch



Jaffa
15th October 2006, 10:40 AM
Hey guys, I'm having a little more trouble this weekend than usual. Here is the story. X11 wont launch, it just wont. I'm trying to open OpenOffice.org and X11 wont launch. I have tried launching X11 by itself and it bounces in the dock once and then dissappears

here is what the crash log says


Host Name: MacBook
Date/Time: 2006-10-15 10:32:57.711 +1000
OS Version: 10.4.8 (Build 8L2127)
Report Version: 4

Command: X11
Path: /Applications/Utilities/X11.app/Contents/MacOS/X11
Parent: WindowServer [61]

Version: 1.2 (???)

PID: 283
Thread: Unknown

Link (dyld) error:

Symbol not found: _open$UNIX2003
Referenced from: /Applications/Utilities/X11.app/Contents/MacOS/X11
Expected in: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib

any help would be greatly appreciated

thanks in advance

jeff

purana
15th October 2006, 12:03 PM
Has it worked previously? or is this a new install of X11 for the first time (in the attempt to use it). If so, where did you get the X11 pkg to install. Is it off your install media?

Jaffa
15th October 2006, 12:21 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(purana &#064; Oct 15 2006, 12&#58;03 PM) 224905</div>

Has it worked previously? or is this a new install of X11 for the first time (in the attempt to use it). If so, where did you get the X11 pkg to install. Is it off your install media?
[/b]

This is the first time I have tried it on my MacBook. Yes, it is an install from the DVD Media that came with my computer. The last time I used X11 was on my PowerBook (which I sold a while ago to get a MacBook) and it worked for me on the PowerBook. I installed X11 all the way back when I first got my MacBook, and I hadnt tried it until now. I have tried re-installing from the DVD Media that came with my computer, and it still wont load.

stefanlod
15th October 2006, 12:33 PM
Do PPC X11 apps work with Rosetta? If not, it might be a PPC-only version? Just a stab in the dark here...

Or else, you might want to try using one of the Aqua ports of OOo called NeoOffice (http://www.planamesa.com/neojava/en/index.php). Good luck&#33;

Jaffa
15th October 2006, 12:35 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(stefanlod &#064; Oct 15 2006, 12&#58;33 PM) 224914</div>

Do PPC X11 apps work with Rosetta? If not, it might be a PPC-only version? Just a stab in the dark here...

Or else, you might want to try using one of the Aqua ports of OOo called NeoOffice (http://www.planamesa.com/neojava/en/index.php). Good luck&#33;
[/b]

I have an Intel build of OOo here. I know I can use NeoOffice, but I would like to have the X11 version working here.

Jeff

*EDIT* Also, as I have said before, I have tried launching X11 on it&#39;s own, not through OOo and it does not launch.

*EDIT2* Screenshots:

http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/9272/picture2og3.jpg (http://imageshack.us) http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/7876/picture3ur4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

*EDIT3* I should also add that I am using OS X 10.4.8

stefanlod
15th October 2006, 12:40 PM
Maybe just reinstall X11? There might have been a bad install.

Jaffa
15th October 2006, 12:41 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(stefanlod &#064; Oct 15 2006, 12&#58;40 PM) 224916</div>

Maybe just reinstall X11? There might have been a bad install.
[/b]

Tried re-installing. Didnt help.

Jeff

Jaffa
15th October 2006, 01:23 PM
I have also tried repairing disk permissions, no use :(

Jeff

Jaffa
16th October 2006, 07:12 PM
Bumpety Bump...

Currawong
16th October 2006, 07:16 PM
It&#39;s at the point of someone needing to physically look at the machine to fix this. Could require a system re-install possibly.

Jaffa
16th October 2006, 07:26 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Currawong &#064; Oct 16 2006, 07&#58;16 PM) 225376</div>

It&#39;s at the point of someone needing to physically look at the machine to fix this. Could require a system re-install possibly.
[/b]

Doing a full System Restore will seriously annoy the everything out of me. I hope there is a way I can fix this, or maybe another update to tiger will fix it for me :S

lukerhn
2nd November 2006, 08:26 PM
My problem is slightly different... X11 opens fine, OpenOffice even looks like it is about to open, but seems to quit. A real pain! Any suggestions guys?

Jaffa
2nd November 2006, 08:34 PM
My problem is slightly different... X11 opens fine, OpenOffice even looks like it is about to open, but seems to quit. A real pain! Any suggestions guys?

I posted my fix, but it seems to have been wiped out by the hackers. Here it is:


It's fixed. Ok. What I did was I copied the X11.app file from another Intel machine and put it in my Utilities folder and it all works good now :D

Hope that helps.

Jeff

*EDIT* If you are running a PPC processor, get the file from another PPC machine :P Just logical, but thought i'd add it.

forgie
2nd November 2006, 09:31 PM
Has anyone tried the X11 update that was just released? I am reluctant to install it, although Software Update has already downloaded it for me....

(I use X11 for Eagle, Matlab and IDL.)