PDA

View Full Version : VirtualPC and Autocad



forno
2nd December 2004, 09:30 AM
Is anyone running this combo on a iBook 1.33?

forno
7th December 2004, 01:14 PM
what about on any mac??

Disko
7th December 2004, 01:17 PM
What sort of cad work are you looking to do?

iSlayer
7th December 2004, 01:18 PM
virtual pc doesnt have a gpu power so anything graphics related struggles.
it depends how detailed your designs will be.
its been a while since i used autocad but i reckon virtual pc will run it ok but large projects will really slow it down

mjankor
7th December 2004, 01:31 PM
I used to use it. It was ok for nothing too complex. It depends how you use Autocad.

sillydog701
7th December 2004, 05:01 PM
Originally posted by grippon@Dec 2 2004, 09:30 AM
Is anyone running this combo on a iBook 1.33?
Yes. I run Windows 2000 under Virtual PC on PowerBook 12" (1.33GHz, 1.25GB RAM)

I use AutoCAD in such environment sometimes, but prefer not to use it. slow.

sillydog701
7th December 2004, 05:02 PM
Originally posted by grippon@Dec 7 2004, 01:14 PM
what about on any mac??
Also running on PowerMac G4 Dual 1.42 GHz with 2GB RAM, a lot faster, but still slow.

forno
8th December 2004, 07:25 AM
Thanks guys, I will be doing as much as I can I suppose but they wont be drawings with 1000's of entities more like 1-3mg 2d drawings and the odd 3d drawing but not too complex. really want to get into maya for that

Does anyone know how maya compares to autocad as far as being able to draw acurately, is Maya a more "creative" 3d package.

I have been using Autocad for about 7 years so I can draw quickly and acurately in 3d Autocad and then import to 3D studio or whatever it will import to.

Does anyone know if a PC generated autocad drawing will come into OS X apps properly

sillydog701
8th December 2004, 10:11 AM
Originally posted by grippon@Dec 8 2004, 07:25 AM
I have been using Autocad for about 7 years so I can draw quickly and acurately in 3d Autocad and then import to 3D studio or whatever it will import to.

Does anyone know if a PC generated autocad drawing will come into OS X apps properly
If you realy want to use AutoCAD, I would suggest getting a cheap PC instead.

As for file reading in OS X, you will need to convert to other formats. Depends on 2D or 3D drawings, some formats are better. (I assume you have GraphicConverter that came with Mac.)

Otherwise, there's something called CADintosh (http://www.lemkesoft.com/en/cadintosh.htm), it works very well for me (I am not a professional CAD drawer/user) and only US$33.

forno
8th December 2004, 10:56 AM
I am going to buy a iBook soon, but I still have my P3 733 if I need to do some major cading. Just would like to have as much functionality as I can in the iBook