PDA

View Full Version : Speed Up Dashboard Loading Times



Zurg
13th October 2006, 05:25 PM
I just saw this on Mac OS X Hints and found it to be a huge improvement

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?sto...061002101155933 (http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20061002101155933)

sunrisesister
13th October 2006, 05:35 PM
yah, i saw this on hardmac, and it DOES work!

marc
13th October 2006, 05:40 PM
21.5mb and 1,500+ files here. :)

Thanks for the tip.

stefanlod
13th October 2006, 05:53 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(marc &#064; Oct 13 2006, 05&#58;40 PM) 224494</div>

21.5mb and 1,500+ files here. :)
[/b]

22mb&#33; I WIN&#33; :P Mind you it does work well&#33; Thanks for that tip&#33;

mctext
13th October 2006, 05:57 PM
Trashed 8.1mb of cache files.
Ran Dashboard.
8.1mb of files returned to the caches folder&#33;
So maybe that&#39;s the min. size for that folder?



mct

Normie
13th October 2006, 07:02 PM
Thank you for the post Zurg works great made a big dfference
Steve

spilla
13th October 2006, 07:36 PM
It was only about 5mb for me, as I don&#39;t use it much. But I didn&#39;t notice that it loaded quicker than normal. :(

W2ttsy
13th October 2006, 07:48 PM
has it affected things like IceTV or iStat? those things update pretty often, so i would think the caches would be getting used.

also the idea of mapping the cache folder to dev/null: was a good one.

W2ttsy

sunrisesister
13th October 2006, 07:50 PM
lol i nuked 30MB, and theres now 368KB :) big diff in performance for me.

Jaffa
13th October 2006, 08:26 PM
I had 4.1MB. Trashed it. Opened Dashboard again (after a killall Dock). WOW&#33; loads at least twice as fast as before.

marc
13th October 2006, 10:06 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(stefanlod &#064; Oct 13 2006, 05&#58;53 PM) 224498</div>

22mb&#33; I WIN&#33; :P Mind you it does work well&#33; Thanks for that tip&#33;
[/b]
Hahah.

I just loaded dash after a restart... much quicker.

Georgina EG
13th October 2006, 11:44 PM
Tried the exercise but although I went to Library>Caches, there was no DashboardClient mentioned. However, my Dashboard with 13 items showing takes less than a second to load so it isn&#39;t exactly slow.

MrJesseRoss
13th October 2006, 11:53 PM
I only had 7.2mb. Slight noticeable difference in speed. But that&#39;s 7.2mb to fill up with more junk at least&#33;

DJY
14th October 2006, 12:08 AM
23.8 MB here.
Was skeptical... but seems to indeed improve performance with Dashboard.
Great trick&#33;

Thanks

Wheels
14th October 2006, 12:37 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Georgina EG &#064; Oct 13 2006, 11&#58;44 PM) 224632</div>

Tried the exercise but although I went to Library>Caches, there was no DashboardClient mentioned. However, my Dashboard with 13 items showing takes less than a second to load so it isn&#39;t exactly slow.
[/b]
Well if you do decide you wish to clear out the cache...
You are in the wrong folder, you need to go to ~/Library/Caches/DashboardClient
~/ being your local user folder. I think you were looking under the cache folder in your hard drive instead.

ADAMS77
14th October 2006, 02:55 AM
Shit that makes a hell of a difference. i no longer regret opening dashboard now. Thanks
AAA+++

Squozen
14th October 2006, 08:28 AM
No difference whatsoever. It was always fast for me.. /shrug

hawker
14th October 2006, 11:13 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(ADAMS77 &#064; Oct 14 2006, 02&#58;25 AM) 224645</div>

Shit that makes a hell of a difference. i no longer regret opening dashboard now. Thanks
AAA+++
[/b]

Same Here... Why didn&#39;t someone find this out ages ago :P like the day after Tiger came out&#33;

jeremy_warnock
14th October 2006, 11:15 AM
great tip - trashed 29megs and dashboard is usible again

Jimbo
14th October 2006, 11:59 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(ADAMS77 &#064; Oct 14 2006, 02&#58;55 AM) 224645</div>

AAA+++
[/b]


LOL&#33; :lol: