PDA

View Full Version : Parallels update!



ilostmypassword
13th October 2006, 07:57 AM
The Desktop for Mac Official Update includes a number of powerful new features, such as:

Works on ANY Intel-Mac with ANY memory configuration with no system modification. This includes Mac Pro towers with up to 16GB of RAM, and the full line of Core 2 Duo iMacs
Support for Windows Vista as a guest OS
Support for Mac OS X 10.5 "Leopard" as a Primary OS
Better USB support, including support for isochronous devices and Windows Mobile 5 devices

Get it here (http://www.parallels.com/products/desktop)

purana
13th October 2006, 08:16 AM
Cool, new goodies :)

Nightbreed
13th October 2006, 08:19 AM
It seems to get better every day! It's still missing the one thing im after, which they say is on the way. 3D graphics support. Im sick of having to re-boot.

ilostmypassword
13th October 2006, 08:34 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Nightbreed &#064; Oct 13 2006, 08&#58;19 AM) 224244</div>

It seems to get better every day&#33; It&#39;s still missing the one thing im after, which they say is on the way. 3D graphics support. Im sick of having to re-boot.
[/b]

Agreed&#33; 3D goodness is so needed&#33;

Alec Fraser
13th October 2006, 08:38 AM
Sweet&#33; I just finished trying to get Vista too dual boot with OS X, but the stupid thing couldn&#39;t see the partition for some reason. Hopefully this version of parallels won&#39;t crash my iMac every time I try to run it.

ilostmypassword
13th October 2006, 08:41 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(thatfilthyspringbok &#064; Oct 13 2006, 08&#58;38 AM) 224250</div>

Sweet&#33; I just finished trying to get Vista too dual boot with OS X, but the stupid thing couldn&#39;t see the partition for some reason. Hopefully this version of parallels won&#39;t crash my iMac every time I try to run it.
[/b]


..let us know how you go .... *ahem* with pictures&#33;

Nightbreed
13th October 2006, 08:51 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(thatfilthyspringbok &#064; Oct 13 2006, 08&#58;38 AM) 224250</div>

Sweet&#33; I just finished trying to get Vista too dual boot with OS X, but the stupid thing couldn&#39;t see the partition for some reason. Hopefully this version of parallels won&#39;t crash my iMac every time I try to run it.
[/b]


I installed the demo version 2 days ago and it does the same thing&#33;&#33; Every time i start it, it crashes&#33; grrrr

purana
13th October 2006, 09:04 AM
First thing i noticed, if I load a Windows virtual machine (the parallels icon on my dock showing the app is loaded changed from standard parallels one, to one that has a windows logo over it and in the bottom right corner).

Wonder if it will change if I swap to a Linux virtual machine..

EDIT: Sure does..

Screen grabs below;

http://purana.bur.st/gallery/d/48-1/parallels-icon-linux.jpg

http://purana.bur.st/gallery/d/50-1/parallels-icon-windows.jpg

ilostmypassword
13th October 2006, 09:52 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(purana &#064; Oct 13 2006, 09&#58;04 AM) 224265</div>

First thing i noticed, if I load a Windows virtual machine (the parallels icon on my dock showing the app is loaded changed from standard parallels one, to one that has a windows logo over it and in the bottom right corner).

Wonder if it will change if I swap to a Linux virtual machine..

EDIT: Sure does..

Screen grabs below;

http://purana.bur.st/gallery/d/48-1/parallels-icon-linux.jpg

http://purana.bur.st/gallery/d/50-1/parallels-icon-windows.jpg
[/b]

Nice&#33;

purana
13th October 2006, 10:09 AM
It also appears a little quicker under my Windows XP Pro virtual machine, but that could be anything. I will continue to tinker, but nothing stands out more then the icons changing based on the virtual machine loaded at the time.

My license just ran out, so I will use one more trial key (and then consider buying a license). Unless of course my work finally push out a Vmware beta.

I&#39;ve got a few tests I want to do with the latest version, see if they work.

jbillett
13th October 2006, 10:55 AM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(purana &#064; Oct 13 2006, 10&#58;09 AM) 224308</div>

My license just ran out, so I will use one more trial key (and then consider buying a license). Unless of course my work finally push out a Vmware beta.
[/b]

How are you getting additional trial keys?

jeremy_warnock
13th October 2006, 12:51 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(jbillett &#064; Oct 13 2006, 10&#58;55 AM) 224327</div>

How are you getting additional trial keys?
[/b]


one for each email address

jbillett
17th October 2006, 10:40 PM
So the virtual machines remain and you just start a new 15 day trial with the new key? or do you have to re-install?