PDA

View Full Version : urgh isn't that just annoying...



stefanlod
20th September 2006, 04:56 PM
Ever since I got my PowerBook, it has been my intention to upgrade the memory from 512 to something higher once I had the time to do it (as Apple charges ridiculous prices for memory expansion and adding memory isn't too hard). So I decided that two days ago would've been the right time, so I did some looking around, and bought a 1 GB Kingmax DDR2 667/533/400MHz SO-DIMM.

So I put my PB on a nice clean surface, grabbed the manual and followed the instructions to the letter. Put the memory in, turned it on and it kernel panicked right away. Tried another two times, and again. Annoying. So I took the RAM out, to the letter, and turned it on, all okay. I've bought and expanded laptop memory in the past so it was a pretty odd feeling.

That's pretty frustrating as you would assume. So I now have two questions:

1. Why isn't the RAM compatible? I investigated as much as I could!
2. What's my best option for swapping it?

Disko
20th September 2006, 04:59 PM
1. Apple gear can be a little more fussy with ram than equivalent PCs
2. Take it to where you bought it and say that it doesn't work. Don't say you use a mac, or they might try shafting you out of a replacement stick.

g5agogo
20th September 2006, 05:13 PM
As Disko said, I've had no problem taking ram back to MSY and others (once a bad dimm and another time supposedly compatible Samsung chips that just wouldn't work). IF they're a decent shop, they'll take it back.

Don't forget it could also be that the SO-DIMM is actually bad. It does happen. Have you checked it in another machine?

Also, often a good idea is to check what type of ram Apple used with your model (Samsung, Hyundai etc.) and buy the same brand and type.

chocho
20th September 2006, 06:14 PM
you mention it's a "powerbook", not a "macbook pro" i have a feeling that the powerbooks take pc2700, not DDR 2, but may be wrong!
check, you may be putting the wrong type of ram.

Hamsmyth
20th September 2006, 06:47 PM
Have a look at this pinned thread:

Apple Ram And You (http://forums.appletalk.com.au/index.php?showtopic=6983)

stefanlod
20th September 2006, 06:59 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(chocho &#064; Sep 20 2006, 06&#58;14 PM) 216165</div>

i have a feeling that the powerbooks take pc2700, not DDR 2, but may be wrong&#33;
[/b]

The RAM already in my PB is "Type: DDR2 SDRAM" so it shouldn&#39;t be the wrong kind...

kim jong il
20th September 2006, 06:59 PM
Is it a coincidence that the applecollector just today posted about his Kingmax RAM (http://forums.appletalk.com.au/index.php?showtopic=25922) shitting itself instantly after installation? The difference being that his half works, sort of.

Todd
20th September 2006, 07:03 PM
You will find that it&#39;s probably the logic board, and not the RAM.

I just had mine done.

Apple have a recall on them so check it out.

Regards

tcn33
20th September 2006, 07:17 PM
Both times I&#39;ve put new RAM in a Mac, it&#39;s not worked (once on my dad&#39;s iMac G5, once on my own). The second stick worked just fine in the G5, still waiting to see what happens with mine...

But yeah, I know exactly how you feel.

stefanlod
20th September 2006, 07:21 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Todd &#064; Sep 20 2006, 07&#58;03 PM) 216208</div>

You will find that it&#39;s probably the logic board, and not the RAM.
[/b]

I did a hardware test about 2 weeks ago. Nothing wrong.

Todd
20th September 2006, 07:29 PM
It&#39;s the logic board and the worst part it that it is a intermittent problem, and it will cost nothing to fix Apple pays.
I had the same problem.

W2ttsy
20th September 2006, 07:35 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Hamsmyth &#064; Sep 20 2006, 06&#58;47 PM) 216190</div>

Have a look at this pinned thread:

Apple Ram And You (http://forums.appletalk.com.au/index.php?showtopic=6983)
[/b]

another thing thats annoying is fucking dyslexia. i read that as a "have a look at this pinhead"

lol at me i guess :rolleyes:

W2ttsy

stefanlod
20th September 2006, 07:35 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Todd &#064; Sep 20 2006, 07&#58;29 PM) 216233</div>

It&#39;s the logic board and the worst part it that it is a intermittent problem, and it will cost nothing to fix Apple pays.
I had the same problem.
[/b]

Checked - my SN isn&#39;t on the list.

edit: oh btw, no beeps, just black............

stefanlod
20th September 2006, 11:01 PM
Breakthrough: (sorry for digging this up again)

Tried again, turned it on, startup tone, then three beeps. The sleep light flickered on, off, on....

According to the Apple site, that means that there might be something wrong with the slot? Not entirely sure, but my serial isn&#39;t on the list. Oh well, I might take it down to the store tomorrow to have everything checked.