PDA

View Full Version : Parallels Update [merged]



mjankor
9th August 2006, 01:32 PM
New update came out today, available from all the usual suspects (version tracker, macupdate). Some nice improvements but most importantly for me, graphics performance is boosted and I can use Autocad properly now.

mechcon
9th August 2006, 01:53 PM
I noticed that, and it runs nicer on the imac at work!

purana
9th August 2006, 02:24 PM
Will have to update myself, I can't see any reference to whats changed on the site. Further more I didnt realise the product name has changed. Now called Desktop for Mac and not Workstation.

EDIT: removed my referenced url to changes/what's new...

Jaffa
9th August 2006, 04:25 PM
Thats funny, I did a update check using the update tool under Help>Check for updates in my copy of parallels and it said that my copy was up to date...

mjankor
9th August 2006, 04:39 PM
This update is a beta so it probably won't show there.

purana
9th August 2006, 05:50 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Jaffa &#064; Aug 9 2006, 04&#58;25 PM) 202992</div>

Thats funny, I did a update check using the update tool under Help>Check for updates in my copy of parallels and it said that my copy was up to date...
[/b]

My(mate) said the samething and I told him to grab from macupdate manually.

EDIT: neglected to put the word mate in

Nightbreed
10th August 2006, 10:45 AM
Great news for gamers, bad news for BootCamp&#33;

This was in the latest MacWorld.

"What’s more, Parallels Desktop for Mac will see “fast 3D graphics support,” presumably to help cater to gamers who want to run Windows games without having to reboot their machine using Boot Camp and a separate Windows partition. Also planned is support for Microsoft’s forthcoming Windows Vista, the major update to Windows Microsoft has planned for the first calendar quarter of 2007."

Woody Mann-Caruso
10th August 2006, 03:34 PM
So the beta upgrade works fine on a retail installation?

mjankor
10th August 2006, 03:56 PM
Sure does. (for me anyway)

aspro
10th August 2006, 04:37 PM
So it has the 3D support now? Does anyone know how well it actually works? That is, will I be able to run say Counterstrike 1.6 on it through my Macbook?

Quasar
10th August 2006, 05:21 PM
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(aspro &#064; Aug 10 2006, 04&#58;37 PM) 203435</div>

So it has the 3D support now? Does anyone know how well it actually works? That is, will I be able to run say Counterstrike 1.6 on it through my Macbook?
[/b]

No. They are looking to add that later though.