PDA

View Full Version : wi fi speeds

Harry the Horse
23rd June 2006, 10:11 PM
I am currently running a toshiba laptop (1.5Ghz, 1MB ram) from work on my home wi fi/airport network. The router is a Dlink with an airport express that connects a HP printer. ISP is Bigpond cable.
The PC is close to twice as quick as my PowerBook G4 1.5 Ghz 1Mb and my iMac Duo 20 inch with 2Gb ram. All of them are much faster if connected directly to ethernet.

All the machines are getting good signal strength. I am using 128 bit WEP.
As an example it is taking 9-10 seconds to get a Google page on the PB

I am a newbie. Does anyone have some hints as to what I should do please?

bartron
23rd June 2006, 10:34 PM
Ah wireless....nothing is ever as it seems. You are in the realm of advertising gimics and size(speed) comparisons.

I have a dlink card in my PC and a netgear rangemax router. Lucky if I get 20mbps (the dlink is advertised at 54 and the router at 108). Different cards get different speeds. Unless all your cards are matched to the router you will rarely see advertised speeds.

IMHO wireless is good for internet as your net connection is almost always slower than your slowest wireless link...even good old 802.11b at 11Mbps. As a method of copying files however it sucks compared to wired ethernet.

Bartron

choy
23rd June 2006, 11:07 PM
Are all the machines in the same room when you achieve these speeds?

What are you comparing? Speed of web browsing or downloading a file?

Make sure you have "Use interference robustness" turned off on your powerbook and imac.

Are you using safari or firefox or some other browser? Safari is actually quite slow(especially if the web cache etc is very full - try emptying the cache and remembered links.), Try camino or opera (go to macupdate.com and do a search for these)

Info on how to speed safari here: