PDA

View Full Version : Getting rid of startup sound or lowering volume



mazza_lives
8th April 2006, 02:04 PM
Everytime i start up theres that lour annoying start up sound. is there anyway of lowering the volume or cutting it completely? im using 10.4.6

Exocet
8th April 2006, 02:08 PM
Mute your mac before shutting it down / restarting.

dev_enter
8th April 2006, 02:30 PM
Here's a way you can automate this: http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?sto...051013141919568 (http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20051013141919568)

tommelbourne
8th April 2006, 02:32 PM
Or a lovely Pref Pane:
http://www5e.biglobe.ne.jp/~arcana/Startup...d/index.en.html (http://www5e.biglobe.ne.jp/~arcana/StartupSound/index.en.html)
Although just muting the sound before shut down is pretty darned simple!

Brewster
8th April 2006, 04:07 PM
Plug a 3.5mm plug into the headphone jack before you want a silent startup.

ADAMS77
8th April 2006, 04:12 PM
Originally posted by Brewster@Apr 8 2006, 04:37 PM
Plug a 3.5mm plug into the headphone jack before you want a silent startup.
plugging a 3.5mm heaphone jack doesnt make a difference (well hasnt with every mac i have). Easiest way is just mute or turn volume down before last shutdown.

downsys
8th April 2006, 06:28 PM
mac users rarely ever shut down anyway. just leave it to sleep :)

but in the event of a shutdown, just mute the volume i guess.

Paxton
8th April 2006, 06:54 PM
Press the mute button whilst starting Turning the computer on. I have done that before, and found that it works better than anything else I have tried, especially the Headphone port one.

mazza_lives
9th April 2006, 01:30 AM
I would have thought there would be some option in preferences...quite surprising there isn't.
Does adjusting the volume affect volume output to external soundcard? I hae an external audio card that handles output and iinput or are they separate things?

en.elle
9th April 2006, 01:40 AM
I use THIS (http://www5e.biglobe.ne.jp/~arcana/software.en.html) little program to mute the startup sound.. Been using it for more than a year, no troubles, no problems :thumbup:

tommelbourne
9th April 2006, 07:10 AM
Originally posted by mazza_lives@Apr 9 2006, 02:30 AM
I would have thought there would be some option in preferences...quite surprising there isn't.
There isn't by default....which is why i suggested the Preference Pane (http://www5e.biglobe.ne.jp/~arcana/StartupSound/index.en.html) (which is the same one suggested by en.elle) up the top of the thread. A Preference Pane adds a new section to the System Preferences.