PDA

View Full Version : xbox ftping



gurgle
6th April 2006, 01:50 AM
iv finally gotten sick of having to turn off my firewall everytime i want to ftp into my modded xbox
it connects but isnt able to read whats there.. only does so if my firewalls turned off

im guessing its a port issue.. i just dunno which one i have to open

anyone?

edit: just realised that if this is a firewall issue it probably doesnt belong in the hardware general section.. oops
mods move if required!!

Currawong
6th April 2006, 09:41 AM
When you FTP, are you using Passive (PASV) mode? You need to do that in your ftp software if you are running a firewall of any kind.

By the way, are you talking about the Mac OS X firewall?

gurgle
6th April 2006, 10:18 AM
yep, im using transmit and PASV mode is ticked

and yeah, im working with the stock standard OSX firewall..

sikosis
6th April 2006, 10:37 AM
are your devices all plugged into a switch ? or are you using an airport express ?

Wally
6th April 2006, 10:38 AM
is the xbox Dash EVox? Usually you can check the pot numbers

gurgle
6th April 2006, 11:04 AM
im using a netgear wireless gaming bridge but the deal is the same when i connect to my ibook directly

yeah im using the evox dash but under EvoX System Settings i cant find where the port numbers are mentioned..

sikosis
6th April 2006, 11:57 AM
the default FTP port is 21 ... unless it's been changed. Perhaps opening that ? Is your wireless network and wired network on the same subnet ? or different ?

gurgle
6th April 2006, 12:10 PM
ftp access is ticked in sys prefs
my ibook is on the same wireless network as my xbox is on

its bloody annoying!

gurgle
11th April 2006, 12:47 AM
http://members.lycos.co.uk/utsc/bump.gif

anyone else got any ideas?

what does everyone else with modded xboxes do to up stuff to it??

sikosis
11th April 2006, 11:50 AM
My setup is ....

ADSL MODEM <-> FIREWALL <-> SWITCH <-> AIRPORT EXPRESS

This is my computer room which has a PC and an iMac in it.

Then in my lounge

XBOX <-> SWITCH <-> AIRPORT EXPRESS

From the computer room, I can connect from the PC or the Mac to the XBOX.

Basically, I don&#39;t run any internal firewalls ... I only block incoming traffic.