PDA

View Full Version : OS X network filename charactor limit

bowser
8th October 2004, 07:37 AM
Hi
I'm new to mac's and have tried researching this fault myself but am running out of ideas. Please help...

I have my G4 desktop networked to a NT 4 file server. I'm running OS X. I can create files with 31 + characters locally, but as soon as I attempt to copy them to the server it states that the filename is too long. If I copy the same file via smb protocol it's fine. I know this limitation existed in 9 but I didn't think OS X was affected.

Can anyone help point me in the right direction?
thx

Disko
8th October 2004, 09:52 AM
hey bowser. welcome to AppleTalk. :)

Which protocol are you using? SMB doesn't support long file names iirc. Not sure about afp though.

cmetom
8th October 2004, 09:56 AM
i use long file names through SMB between 10.3 and Win2000.SP4 all the time.
though i can't offer a solution, it may involve NT4.. maybe google some of the key terms?

Jmi
8th October 2004, 01:04 PM
On top of my head,
NT4.0 do not support long file name if its fat32.
i'll give a check for you.

*edit*
I can create a Long filename in NT4.0 but not in DOS mode though.

hope it helps

decryption
8th October 2004, 05:41 PM
Yep, Jmi is correct.
The simple solution is dump NT4, get Windows 2003 and everyone will play nice :)

bowser
8th October 2004, 05:55 PM
thanks for the help guys.

Problem is that smb does copy it successfully to the NT4 server, it's appletalk that doesn't. Even ftp works.... Going from that I assumed the problem wasn't so much NT4, but the way OS X transfers files via Appletalk.

I'll check the servers partitions to see if there FAT32 or NTFS.

josh64
8th October 2004, 09:50 PM
Could be something to do with the version of the appletalk protocol the NT4 box uses?