PDA

View Full Version : RAW files in Adobe Photoshop?



Goodbye
19th March 2006, 08:23 PM
Hello,
I have CS2, but I can't seem to work out how to use it for adjusting and working with RAW files from my camera. I know I can use Adobe Bridge, but is this the only way? What's this "Camera RAW" plugin I keep reading about?

Any info will be greatly received :thumbup:
Ash.

BiRDBRAiN
19th March 2006, 08:38 PM
Have a look at Lightroom.

Never tried it inside Photoshop, but I know Lightroom will work.

It's currently in beta but I quite like it :thumbup:

Worth a look: Lightroom Project Page (http://labs.macromedia.com/technologies/lightroom/)

EDIT: You can also open a copy of the photo you are viewing in Photoshop from Lightroom

Goodbye
19th March 2006, 08:50 PM
I have the Lightroom beta, but I was wondering about Photoshop more as I know my way around it and I find myself more productive in it...

soulman
20th March 2006, 08:29 AM
Camera Raw is just a plain old plugin, free & downloadable from Adobe. V3.3 is current & offers the widest support. It allows you to open RAW files within PS. I just googled it & found it easily enough.

decryption
20th March 2006, 09:16 AM
http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/pro...tform=Macintosh (http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/product.jsp?product=39&platform=Macintosh)

Download Camera RAW 3.3 and thats all you need. You can then open the images in Photoshop CS 2. Use Adobe Bridge to navigate your RAW files :)

Goodbye
20th March 2006, 10:23 AM
Ahh, thanks so much guys, I thought I was missing something!

Currawong
20th March 2006, 12:10 PM
The idea of having RAW files is that you DO open them in bridge first to correct any white-balance issues, without having to modify the image in any way, before bringing then into PS for editing.

rpjallan
20th March 2006, 12:20 PM
Adobe Bridge is only a browser. If you open a RAW file in Bridge or Photoshop it will actually open in Camera Raw.

melbmac
21st March 2006, 06:22 PM
I've never had any issues working with RAW files, just have a bit of a play around...

yinyang
22nd March 2006, 11:33 AM
another noob question about RAW - just got a D50, and it comes with some nikon software, that i've read isn't 'that' wonderful, but does mean I can play with RAW files.

But i was wondering is the combination of iPhoto 6 and Photoshop Elements 3 enough to make use of these RAW files?

decryption
22nd March 2006, 11:44 AM
iPhoto 6 will handle Nikon RAW :)
I'm not sure about Photoshop Elements 3 though.

bernie234
22nd March 2006, 01:05 PM
PSE 3 will open RAW files...... but you have to download the plugin from the adobe site..........

rpjallan
22nd March 2006, 01:36 PM
Yeah, PSE just uses the same plugin (Adobe Camera Raw) as photoshop.

yinyang
22nd March 2006, 03:23 PM
cool - thanks for all the replies :)