PDA

View Full Version : Transfer Applecare to new unit



soferfam
12th February 2006, 12:37 PM
I bought Applecare with my PB a year ago. 2 weeks ago my PB was stolen overseas (damn..!) and is being replaced by insurance. Does anyone have any experience in whether Apple will transfer this to my new unit, which I am getting next week. Ins won't cover Applecare and I dont really want to fork out another A$579
Thanks... Rob :cry:

dev_enter
12th February 2006, 12:47 PM
133 622.

soferfam
12th February 2006, 12:54 PM
Tried that. They could not answer and told me a diff serial number was a diff unit, therefore I had to purchase a new Applecare again. Don't really want to give Steve >$500 for providing me no service. Maybe phone Apple's PR dept?

Phillip
12th February 2006, 01:00 PM
AppleCenter Service Departments have the power to change the serial number of products under AppleCare for you. You might like contact one and explain your situation.

soferfam
12th February 2006, 01:03 PM
I will. Thanks for the help

W2ttsy
12th February 2006, 01:12 PM
also, just a quick question? does warrenty transfer with the unit after a sale? ive got 1 month remaining on the g5 i just bought and plan to get applecare for it. is that going to happen or is my warrenty void?

W2ttsy