PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer 107D DVD/CD Burner



harryb2448
7th February 2006, 06:38 AM
Good Morning

Yesterdeay I was copying a CD using Roxio Toast Titanium, when halfway through experienced a kernel panic attack 'start up your mac' etc multi language message.

Did so and after apple logo appeared, a grey screen came up welcoming to firmware update and request continue boot inserting 'boot-mac' and pressing shift key. Did so and screen just went black. Restart and held down mouse button, CD popped out and booted as normal.

Ran Disk Repair and Repair Permissions, no problems, and booted with Disk Warrior. Freeze halfweay through rebuild, restart to again the firmware update and 'mac-boot' page. Restarted holding down mouse, Disk Warrior CD ejected and normal start up.

Is this what happens when the unit fails and is it time for a new Pioneer or do members recommend some other brand, please?

Harry

:(

Currawong
7th February 2006, 04:03 PM
What machine is it?

Does this happen if the Pioneer isn't connected at all?

harryb2448
8th February 2006, 06:11 AM
It is a G4 400MHz tower upgraded with a 1.2GHz Mercury Extreme upgrade and the Pioneer DVR-107D is built in.

Harry

Currawong
8th February 2006, 09:31 AM
Could be a problem with the CPU upgrade or bad RAM. The only way to trouble-shoot this is process of elimination - ie: to see if the machine has a panic with, say, some of the RAM removed or the old CPU in it or without the optical drive.

harryb2448
12th February 2006, 07:13 AM
Dowloaded driver update for 107D to X707 and no more problems there.

Main problem is Disk Warrior does not handle CPU upgrade cards period as the software is designed to handle original Apple hardware format only.

Mac Aid
12th February 2006, 09:07 AM
Originally posted by harryb2448@Feb 12 2006, 07:13 AM
Main problem is Disk Warrior does not handle CPU upgrade cards period as the software is designed to handle original Apple hardware format only.
If you have access to another machine, you could boot your G4 into target disk mode and scan it from the other machine. That way your machines CPU is not involved.