PDA

View Full Version : Which recent version of OS X

soulman
11th February 2015, 09:50 PM
I've just started using a different machine at home, going from a 2008 Mac Pro (http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_pro/specs/mac-pro-quad-core-2.8-2008-specs.html) to a 2012 i7 Mac Mini (http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_mini/specs/mac-mini-core-i7-2.6-late-2012-specs.html). I was running 10.6.8 on the Pro, for no particular reason, but have started afresh on the Mini under 10.8.5 which I installed from its Restore Disk. The App Store gives me the option to download Mavericks as well as Yosemite.

I've been using Mountain Lion at work for a couple of years and find it pretty good. I sometimes use a machine with Yosemite and don't love it, but I don't particularly dislike it either and it seems to work ok on an i5 Mini with a disk based hard drive. I'm sure it would fly on the i7 Mini with the fast SSD and 16GB or memory it has. I have no experience of Mavericks but it seems to get good reviews and I am leaning toward maybe using it while I wait for the new look to grow up a bit.

I do a bit of emailing, browsing, file management and watching movies and shows. I also do some photography and have a sizeable Lightroom catalog, which is the most resource intensive job I do at home.

So, what are people's opinions on how these recent versions compare? What would you install and why?

kyte
11th February 2015, 10:16 PM
I did choose to reinstall Mavericks after being in the Yosemite beta program since the beginning. I've unenrolled from that and have no intention of upgrading again unless I need something that won't work in Mavericks or if I can't find a suitable alternative. For me, on my Mini, its more stable and less glitch-prone.

Mountain Lion was the best I think in terms of stability, but thats a step too far for me.

harryb2448
12th February 2015, 07:45 AM